Whole Lotta Crap

Saturday, Jun. 12, 2004 12:40

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

If I were a good wife and mother, I would be making lunch for my family at this moment. I would already be showered and dressed and have already gone to the grocery store. I would not have snapped at my husband, either. However, we all know that I'm not that girl. So I'm sitting here in my underwear and a tee-shirt wishing the rest of the day were mine to play with and my family responsibilities would just disappear for a few hours. (Then, of course, magically re-appear when it's time to go to the baseball game tonight. Cause that might be actual fun.)

I've been rough on myself this week. The trip to Canada is not happening. Trainee number 4 was let go over some security issue and Trainee number 5 didn't start until yesterday. We also have one of the first 3 trainees on a performance plan, so I get to go through her work every day, too. And do my own work. And do whatever my boss doesn't have time to do. And answer the inane questions of the slacker co-workers who can't be trusted not to let the place go to hell in a handbasket if I were to take two frickin' days to go to Canada. Grrr. At least the new girl seems nice and cool and smart. But crap I'm tired of pulling extra hard so other people can let go.

The 41-year-old co-worker brought in her new-born yesterday. It was nice to see a little-bit. So cute and alert for two weeks old. She also brought in her 13-year-old daughter, who has been having a hard time dealing with all of the drama surrounding the new baby. I think we all tried to pay a little extra attention to her and she seemed to appreciate it. Loves her little brother a bunch, too.

As is always the case when I am stressed, I let it effect the way I treat myself. I've been eating poorly and not being good to myself. It's my cycle of self-destruction. (Also effected by my other cycle.)

Hubband and I are arguing about our summer plans. His purchase of new cowboy attire has made him want to go to every outdoor country concert there is this summer. And bring guests so he can "turn them into" country music fans. I keep explaining to him that there is no money! Yet we just spent $200 on tickets today. I don't mind going, but we have so much else going on this summer. Open House's, birthdays, reunions, baseball games...it just seems like the summer is already full and we're making it fuller. (More full...whatever.)

Then we have this conversation:

Hubband: Do you want to go see (whomever)?

Caribou: Not, really, but I wouldn't mind going if you want to go.

Hubband: Why don't we order a bunch of tickets and see if other people want to go.

Caribou: I'd prefer to have us decide who else wants to go and then have them pay for the tickets. We've already spent a lot of money on tickets this summer.

Hubband: So you just want it to be me and you?

Caribou: I wouldn't mind that, but apparently you want to have company, so invite someone and I'll order the tickets.

We had this conversation at least three times, including 5 minutes before the tickets went on sale where I had to once again explain to the Hubband that if it were up to me we would not even be going!!! So if he wanted me to order 4 tickets, just say so. Which he did and they cost $200, so I hope we find someone else (besides my mother, please goddess) to go, because I don't want to eat the other two tickets. (Or, better yet, maybe he can find 3 people from work to go with him and I can stay home?)

I guess I shouldn't complain. I'm spending $100 to spend a day at an altered book workshop with Beth Cote next month. (HA!) But I'm not making him go with me, am I?

More later...I know you can't wait!

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!