So...

Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004 08:50

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

In an effort to organize our finances into a budget that actually covers all of the expenses, I've canceled our cable modem and online service and gone back to the evil that is dial-up. (Both Hubband and Boy hate me and have decided they just won't use the internet at all. In the words of the immortal Ross Gellar, "FINE BY ME!") I've also canceled another subscription service that I've been dragging around like a ball and chain, and I'm letting my magazine subscriptions expire. I know it is possible to live less expensively. Mostly because we've done it before. (If I recall, sex was considered a recreational activity back then. Hmmm...)

I am sure my period will start today because I feel like I've lost 20 pounds since last night and that feeling of worthlessness has replaced itself with the idea that I can do anything if I just try hard enough. (Cue the Morman Tabernacle Choir to sing, "Climb Every Mountain".) Hormones are such fun. You should try some.

Speaking of fun, I cannot tell you how much I've enjoyed begging to come to work the last two days. See, it's "Shut Down" here at the Big Car Co., which means only "critical" staff are to report for the next couple of weeks. My boss, lovely woman, decided that she wanted her two best workers (**shines fingernails on shirt**) to work a skeleton crew with her. Which is great, cause we all know I love my job but hate my coworkers. Without them here, it's all about the love! And she has kind of implied that we could wander in whenever we feel like it as long as the work gets done, which is cool. Except that I've been wandering in an hour or two before the rest of them, but whatever.

Yesterday I popped into my regular parking area and bounced up to the door to scan my badge (something that has to be done two or three times to get into the building) and it didn't work. Went to the front door to find it wide open, scoured the first floor for security personnel, finally found some who said I had to do blah, blah, blah and half an hour later I'm still unable to get into my work area. They let me in, telling me I'd be able to make the changes this morning. But they were wrong, and it was another half hour hassle trying to get in and do some work in this sweatbox without air conditioning. (Do I sound cheerful?)

Just heard from Hubband about the arrangements for his ex-father-in-law's funeral. This would be Big Boy's grandfather as well as a family friend, since my mother once dated him (early in our marriage). It's weird for Hubband, I'm sure, and he is steadfastly refusing any contact with his Ex, even though I've told him I think he should call. We've been getting all the information through SIL and her family. Then there are decisions that need to be made about who goes to the visitation and who to go in with for donations, etc. He was a nice man and I want to pay my respects, but don't want to be disrespectful to the Ex. (Oh, the drama of living the Jerry Springer lifestyle.)

Well, I should get back to (start) work. We've been given assignments and told we can do some work from home this week if we get going. I'm ready. It's like working in a sauna here.

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!