It's Getting Hot In Here...

Tuesday, Jul. 13, 2004 09:03

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

A quick entry from work where the temp is a balmy eighty-something degrees. If not for my awesome battery operated fan (a gift from CWF) I would be toast. Or rather mush. It's not the heat, Honey's, it's the humidity.

Last night was my Altered Book group meeting. Most of what we're doing these days is far and removed from what I thought we'd be doing. Last night we made bee's wax collage. A technique which uses molten bee's wax to adhere the collage pieces to a canvas or board. While I thought a couple of other people did wonderful work, I truly hate mine. For some reason I was sweating as though I'd just run a 10K (as if) and could not focus. I was just in a hurry to be done and it showed. As usual, I felt overwhelmed by the talent surrounding me. However, when I stepped away and looked at my work from a different angle, I was able to see the look I'd been going for in the first place. Anyway, I brought it home and hung it on the wall and we'll see if I work it some more or just leave it.

I'm so into my books after Saturday's class with Beth Cote. What an inspiration she was to me. That, combined with the pressure of a deadline, are working for me. Our group is hosting a showing of our books at a local library the week of August 1st. I'm too flippin' excited. I hope to have 3 or 4 pieces in the show. I received my first book back from the Round Robin last night. It's pretty full and looks complete, so I've already got that one bagged up to go. I'm working on the one from my class on Saturday, which is about half finished. I have a small board book I've set aside that I want to work on. And I have my fabric accordian book that I made and just have to alter.

Jeez. That sounds like a lot. But I have the time right now, so I should be okay. That's the fun of these types of projects, I can work on them simultaneously.

I need to sit down with the calendar tonight and make sure I know what's going on in the next few weeks. I know we've got nothing going on this weekend, but after that I feel like we've got events piled up. It could be just me feeling overwhelmed, though. That's why I have to check before I get stressed out about it.

Okay...I should get to work. It's supposed to cruise to 90 degrees today and I just can't imagine sitting in here much at that temp, so I'm going to plow into the work and see if I can get 8 hours worth of work done in 3 or 4.

Thanks to those of you responding to my "survey". I knew they were big fat liars. :)

1 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!