All this and a chicken salad, too?

Wednesday, Aug. 25, 2004 12:14

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

I am again updating during my pretend lunch, so this will be brief. Thanks to my friends who empathized with my work suckage. Reminder: this could all be my nuerotic imagination. (Except for the part about being grossly underpaid. I have weekly documentation of that.) It is partly my imagination, partly my guilt, and partly my ego that are making me this way, I'm sure. (At least I think I'm sure.) I imagine that everyone is against me and that I've done something wrong to make people not fawn over my brilliance. Then I feel put out by this because I so obviously work harder and am smarter than everyone else so I stop trying to please people and end up not trying at all. Then I feel guilty because I've become the very slacker I detest.

It's all a bad vicious cycle.

Have you ever been watching a show and some brilliant bit come flinging out of the TV at you? I was watching "Mission: Organization" the other night, which is a major fluff piece about how to de-clutter, on HGTV. The hostess (whose name I couldn't come up with for the life of me) was asking the homeowner about how she had containers inside containers. The homeowner babbled something back about how that was her storage philosophy and the hostess responds, "Is that your philosophy, or just how you're livin'?" I thought that was so cool, I just had to write it down.


When I'm in a mood like this, I try to think of things I once enjoyed. Things like reading. I must have twelve half-read books lying around the house. (Including two Library Books that I had to renew over the telephone from Canada!) I cannot tell you the last time I finished a book. Oh, wait! "Shopaholic Takes Manhattan" was a book I actually read all the way through. Because I borrowed it. (I'm a good borrower. I return things promptly and in good condition.) But otherwise I just buy books and read them about halfway through before I get bored.

Where was I? Oh...So my latest goal (and no, my goal to get in more exercise in August didn't really pan out, but I am drinking more water which was my goal for July) is to finish all of the books I've started. And I'm beginning with "Bird by Bird" by Anne Lamott (SP?). I like this book a lot. It makes me feel better and it makes me laugh. Why wouldn't I want to finish a book like that? And, since I couldn't resist buying this beautiful red leather journal even though I have an abundance of blank books, I am going to list all of the books I'm reading as I finish them. I did this once and found it helpful. Only this time I'm going to add comments so I know which ones I might want to read again.

Must go get more ice and water and possibly something fun to munch at the store before I dive back into my work.

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!