Retail Avoidance

Saturday, Sept. 25, 2004 16:08

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

I'm in the office on a Saturday. I am officially on my own time now, so this isn't even illegal or anthing. I'm just enjoying the peace and quiet before I go home to college footbal heaven. Why am I at work on a Saturday? Because my job sucks. Right now I'm doing the work of at least two people, and to be true? I'm not doing it all that well. So I thought a nice catch-up day would be in order to take some of the pressure off.

The Open House at Boy's school was very enlightening. We were struggling to find out how a boy that's never done anything but excel in math can be coming home with an almost failing grade. Turns out, it's because his teacher has a tiny little penis.

Okay. I'm just kidding. I have no idea how big his member is. I'm just basing that on the way he runs his class. 60% of the kid's grade is based on quizzes and tests. Um...excuse me? My child, the one with ADD? Doesn't test so well. Which might explain why he's getting A's on all his classwork and homework and only failing the tests themselves. Uh-huh. Oh, and you say lunch is right in the middle of class? So he's in class for 20 minutes, then at lunch, then in class again and expected to pick up where he left off? Hmmm. Then the teacher says to me he seems a little "emotional" over his performance. I'm sorry, but my kid gets upset when he gets bad grades in his favorite subject. We kind of don't like that at home either.

I am relieved, though, because now I know what I'm dealing with and can start putting a game plan together. I'm not going to worry or let Boy worry about his test scores until we learn how to study. (Which, ironically, is something they never teach you in school.) Maybe this is why I took those college classes? Maybe it was just so I could help my son get through school. Now, is there a class that will teach him how to not break down everytime something goes wrong? That one might be good for both of us.

I'm still at the office, because I don't want to go shopping. I've been doing pretty good with the no shopping thing. Except for this morning when I ducked into Target to drop some change. Not too bad, though, in that I've only spent $100 on my last two visits - a week apart - when I usually can't get out of there under $150. I'm doing better.

Hubband is going to the football game tomorrow. His first tailgate of the season. I'm kind of glad. I need time to myself around the house. There's cleaning and organizing and nesting to do now that Fall is officially here. I'm going to plan, plan, plan the next three months and see what we can do to get the Boy and his Mom on track.

CWF has been in Canada for the last two weeks and I really, really miss her. She's going to be home late tomorrow and then working all week. But I miss her a lot and would really like her to come home early and have coffee with me tomorrow. (I'll have coffee. She'll have tea.)

Okay. Enough. I need to go home and be with my family now. I've gotten enough work done to feel like I won't just collapse under the weight of it all. One of the new girls is working out and will start helping this week (please take some of my people). The other new girl may or may not be back. She went home "sick" in the middle of the day, Friday, and since she wasn't getting it, and knew she wasn't getting it, we're taking bets on if she'll continue. Two or three more new interviews were last week. One woman came into the interview (this would be the third interview for her) wearing two different shoes and describing her urinary infection and how the medication she was taking for it made her "twitchy". Oh, please. Can we hire her?

1 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!