In Celebration of October

Saturday, Oct. 02, 2004 13:44

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Yesterday, I took the day off. No particular reason, other than I needed the break. Things were in okay shape and I was just tired. As it turned out, Nana was taking the day off, too and had free passes to see "Ladder*49". Cool. We planned to meet up at noon and head out, since the theatre was in a town about an hour southwest of home. (Not exactly cost effecient, but a fun adventure since niether of us had spent much time in this area.)

Upon arriving at the theatre, however, we found out that this was to be the theatre's opening night. (Key word here is "night".) We were told by the general contractor that tickets would go on sale at 6pm, but at the time (about 1pm) they had not yet signed off on construction and were pretty sure the computers weren't hooked up.

We laughed, then set about exploring the area, shopping, having pie, shopping, exploring, shopping, sitting in construction traffice, and shopping. At 5:30pm, we headed back to the theatre. (Nana was constantly worried that I was lost - silly woman.) We arrived, along with about 30 other people, to a sign stating they'd be open at 6:30. Okay. So we went to a nearby steakhouse and had dinner. Which was wonderful, but neither of us were extra-hungry so it made us both uncomfortably full. (But it was really good and I would go back today except we're busy.)

Back to the theatre again, only this time there are about 100 people waiting to be let in, including several dozen children under the age of nine waiting to see "The Shark Movie". We waited, and waited, and waited. The staff came out and instead of letting us in, kept asking us to back up. Turned out there was this big ribbon cutting ceremony with the entire city council lining up for photo-ops. When we finally got in, we were met with non-working ticket machines, non-functional ATM's, and staff that were acting every bit as if this was their first time doing this. (The nerve.) Luckily, most of us were in good spirits and managed to not get too pissy about the whole ordeal.

Behind us in line was the most adorable gentleman and his little girl. Her name was Katie, and she was so pretty. Katie was riding on her dad's shoulders and I said, "Boy, you're tall!". Then she looked at her dad and said, "They think I'm really this big!" and then giggled. I was in love then, but later on I felt little finger skittering across my shoulder blade. Katie was "tickling" me. Oh, the sweetness of her.

And the movie was fine, too.

By that time, truthfully, I was tired and uncomfortable. Even the joys of John Travolta in full fireman mode could not keep me from wishing I were home in bed. I'm glad we went, though. I always have fun on these adventures with Nana.

But I did have to tell her she was over her Mother/Daughter minutes for the month.

We're going to see the Tigers play this afternoon. It's Fan Appreciation Day. Damned well better be since the temps are supposed to dip into the 30's tonight. We're going to have an early dinner at the Hard Rock and maybe spend some time in private club, since Hubband got passes from his boss. (I don't like it there. I'm a purist and like to be out in the stadium eating peanuts.)

It's a beautiful day and I'm not a bit disappointed in the cool weather. Big Boy has started exchanging our railroad tie bed boarders for bricks and this morning I took the other Boy to a dueling competition. (No, not with pistols. With trading cards.) They have it at the local "Toys For Us" every Saturday morning from 9:30am until 11:30. He's been wanting to go since he went with a friend some time ago, so I thought I'd take him today.

We've been working on trying to bring up his test scores this week, so I thought this would be a treat. I also wanted to let him be somewhere where he might feel confident, since he's been getting picked on by some kid at school. I've made sure it's just the one kid and we've had talks about how some people are just mean. We've explained why people are mean and why kids are mean, especially, during this phase of their lives. Other than that, I don't know what to do. As long as he's not getting physically hurt, I don't want to push him to tattle. That will just make things worse for him later. At least one of his teachers is aware of the problem and is dealing with it. (Although, she says Boy hadsn't brought it to her attention and isn't even aware that she's spoken to the other kid.) He'll tough it out and/or try to reason with the kid. He's just like that.

Our attempts to make him cooler have failed miserably. He is, and always will be, his own guy. Which, I've probably said before, is what's going to make him an awesome adult as well as a target for the next six years of his life.

Well, I'm off to lay down for a few minutes while waiting for our company to arrive. Hope you all are enjoying your weekends, too.

1 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!