The Weekend Plans Go Boom

Friday, Nov. 12, 2004 19:35

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

My plans for the wonderfully productive, peaceful weekend without Hubband were shattered Tuesday when Grandma had what we thought was a "relapse" (of what I'm not exactly sure) and instead turned out to be another fractured vertebrae. This would be the third one and it's a doozie. A "fragmented fracture", if you can imagine what that means without passing out. There was talk immediately about doing some experimental non-invasive epoxy procedure that would leave her at least as mobile as she has been the last year. Then they did the MRI and found the damage to be more extensive.

Last night, after finding out that Hubband had made it safely to JAX, I got phone call from Nana telling me that she had spoken to a doctor who told her Grandma would need complete bed rest for at least 4-5 months and may never be able to live on her own again. He indicated to my sleepless, stressed out mother that she would need to be in a nursing home ASAP because they'd done all they could do for her. Therefore, it was decided that I would call off of work again today (bringing my total missed hours for the week to 10) so we could spend the day getting her finances in order and picking out a nursing facility.

Guess what...not only is there not a bed available in any of the local nursing homes - of which there are few - but the doctors (all 6 of them) are still consulting on the right course of action to take. Meanwhile Nana is taking everything they say as gospel and only catching the worst case scenario and poor Grandma is parroting back whatever the last thing is someone asked her.

I have determined that Nana and I will burn in hell for not forcing her to the doctor sooner and for basically telling her to "buck it up" after four different doctors found no fractures over the last three weeks worth of visits (which led to the "fragmentation").

Hubband knows little about this situation, other than initial diagnosis of a fracture. I miss him, but I'm glad he's not here to be stressed about it. Did I mention I miss him? It's weird with him being gone, though. There's so much quiet available. (I remember that as being one of my favorite things about being laid off - having full control of the noise level within the house!) Big Boy is more talkative with me, but it's hard for him to realize that I'd rather not talk. (He's currently on his way to pick up The Girl who is now here every single night.)(Not that I mind...much.)

A bit of good news: CWF took my resume' to her superiors and I got a call on it today. Unfortunately, it was right after visiting one of the nursing homes, on my cell, and not a person with a strong grasp of the English Language, but I think we've cooked up enough for a possible upcoming interview. The money would be about double what I'm making now and would therefore make some of my worries vanish. And my "low-stress" job has turned out to be more stressful than I'd hoped in the end.

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!