Gotta Go!

Monday, Dec. 20, 2004 14:38

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

I'm starting to feel a sense of deep regret over my lack of productivity yesterday. At the time (every hour on the hour) it seemed like a good idea to appeal to the inner slacker in me and just "lay like broccoli" all day. Now that I have a growing list of "things to do before I can sleep", it's starting to feel more and more like I just pissed away 24 hours. Which is, in effect, what I did. I can try to make myself feel better by telling myself that I've disposed of 10 magazines, shaved my legs, conditioned my hair, and oiled my parched skin. I also did a load of dishes and made the bed, but that's as far as it goes. (Unless one is to refer to 154 games of Freecell as productive.)

I'm making up for it at work today, though. I've been slammed with work while my coworkers are hitting a slow down for the pending holiday. I should be okay with that, since it makes my day go by faster, but for some reason it's irritating me today.

The Big Boy made it to Florida, although his truck is a little worse for the trip. Some sort of gasket problem erupted and it took 7 quarts of oil to make the trip. The repairs will be done by Tuesday, which is when they planned to leave for Universal anyway (they're at the Girl's grandma's now) and will cost $400. When I asked if he needed any help paying for it, he said, "No, thanks. We have $1500.00 that we brought with us for emergencies like this." Gulp.

I'm visiting the Grandma this afternoon. I'm going to take her something from Wendy*s. The food at this place sucks and when I mentioned it on Friday, I thought she would swoon. I think that's one of the hardest parts about her being there is horrible food. There's just such a lack of anything to look forward to. And now that they're saying she won't come home, it's gotten even worse for her. I don't know how we're going to make Christmas anything but depressing, but we're going to try. We had purchased a fancy walker for her but her spinal cord compression is causing more paralysis and it looks like she'll be chair-bound now. I was otherwise at a loss as to what she might like/find useful until I stumbled upon a few websites and got the idea for a lapdesk. A few other doo-dads and she'll be good to go. I think, this year, it really will be the thought that counts.

Okay, now I'm depressed.

BTW : Saw two movies this weekend. "Spanglish" and "Sideways". I liked them both, although I'd say I liked "Sideways" better. (I don't think I understand the title.)

"Spanglish" was long and I really liked the characters, but it seemed like there wasn't enough meat to the plot. I wanted to know more about the grandmother (Chloris Leachman) and the Daughter and what happens with the father's restaurant. In the end, I didn't really care all that much about the characters I think I was supposed to care about. I think I was supposed to hate the mother (Tea Leoni), but I actually felt sorry for her and empathized with the way she kept trying to control her life.

On the other hand, I really didn't like any of the characters in "Sideways", finding even the blameless Maya to be lacking in forgiveness. Yet, where the first movie found me moving away from the story as it moved on, this one felt me getting more involved.

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!