Oh, The Weather Outside....

Thursday, Dec. 23, 2004 10:16

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Vrrrrooom! Vrrooom! Vrrrroooom!

This is the sound of me driving to work today through half a foot of virgin snow in my 4WD beauty. I love driving in this type of weather. That is...if no one else is driving in this weather. And, being the day before a holiday for most people, lots of others decided to brave it this morning. Lots of less well-equipped others. Lots of less talented others. But I managed to swerve my way around them. (Eat my snow!)

Last night, in a fit of efficiency, I managed to finish the rest of my Christmas shopping. This included a trip to the local Outlet Mall where I was amazed to get in and out with purchases in hand in under 15 minutes. Then a trip to the book store where I cheerfully stood in line and made purchases of which none were for me. (This is unheard of in my world.) Then a trip to Star*bucks where I purchased yet another gift and rewarded myself with a coffee treat (decaf, next time, decaf) and brought home cookies for the Boy. As the traffic was even more ridiculous than normal (the infrastructure near this mall is unbelievably inadequate) I decided to take a rarely traveled dirt road to avoid waiting through seventeen lights. I was again rewarded with sightings of THREE falcons along the way and the time to get a good look at them. (So beautiful!)

Hubband and I wrapped all of the presents last night and finished watching "It's A Wonderful Life" so we can move on to other Christmas favorites. (We're a little behind this year for some reason.) We retired early, even though neither of us had to be at work early, in anticipation of the snow. Sure enough, Hubband was up earlier than I with his shovel in hand and coffee brewing. He is so into the clean driveway. You just don't know!

I am surprised to find that, so far, no one has called off today. We're working half-days on split shifts. As I am working the AM shift, I was certain I would end up working all day to cover other people. It's a Christmas Miracle that I might actually get to leave at noon.

I have no idea what I want to cook/eat over the next three or four days. We are hosting Christmas Eve and Christmas, but I'm so over the whole holiday feast thing. I want to lie in bed and have someone just bring me yummy things already made! I'm hoping it's a bonus side effect of the new medication I'm on that I just don't feel like eating much lately. And when I do eat alot, I get very uncomfortable.

I'm reading a very good book. It's called, "Dry", by Augusten Burroughs. It's his memoir of his time in rehab and getting off booze. I've taken to waking up earlier than my alarm just so I can sneak in a few pages by the light of the Christmas tree. I love the way this guy writes. I love that I am spending more time reading and less time watching television.

I have one hour to go. One Hour and I am on VACATION! (Yes, I'm aware that I'm yelling.) I cannot wait to get and stay far away from this stinking cubicle. I wouldn't care if I had to walk home in this weather, I'd be grateful to get out of Dodge. A whole week to spend watching DVD's and reading books and spending time with my friends. (What are you doing Tuesday, Kookla? Wanna have lunch?) I cannot wait. Feel free to envy me.

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!