My Antibiotics are Pink

Wednesday, Jan. 12, 2005 13:50

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Yesterday, I caved in and went to the doctor. Actually, I tried to go Monday, but she was booked up with other people's problems. Somewhere between the two days, my upper respiratory ailment made it's way north to my right ear and adjoining sinuses. I spent Monday night tossing and turning on the sofa, alternately being awoken by the pain in my right ear or the wheezing sound in my left lung. By the time I made it to the doctor, I was no longer coughing at all, and everything had moved north to my sinus cavity. The doctor used every bit of her medical schooling to tell me I needed an antibiotic. She also gave me a sample inhaler to stop the wheezing at night. I felt better last night just knowing that the antibiotics would soon be working their pink magic on my head. I will feel better...eventually.

I get to go wedding present shopping this week. A family friend is getting married. Hubband has known her since she was two and her birthday is about a week from the Big Boy's. It is a small, intimate wedding, so I'm pleased to be invited and am looking forward to the opportunity to support the retail industry, since I've been so very good about the fiscal restraint of late. This will be another great opportunity to practice, too! Can I get in and out of Target and only buy the wedding gift? I managed to get out of the drug store yesterday without buying anything but my perscription. That was kind of cool. No makeup I wasn't going to wear. No candy I don't need to eat. No stupid magazines. Just the Z-Pak, thanks.

I'm trying hard to stop and think about decisions I make. Is this really what I want? Is there something else that would be better? What will the end result be? Which is why I'm waiting for my vacation check to actually hit my account before making the appointment to have my hair cut and colored. Even if it means committing the fashion faux pas that is wearing a headband. And, when I didn't get my stub for said vacation pay today (as is usual), I practiced the patience thing and made the appropriate phone calls using my best sweetness and light voice instead of just having a hissy fit. (Which led me to the end result that it's all in the works - vacation pay, raise, etc.) Just stop and take a moment and think. That's all I need to do. Which is funny, considering how stopping and taking a moment is what I do best in the physical sense. But all during my lounging the mind is always going a mile a minute.

Stopping to smell the roses? Not a problem. Thinking about it before I do it? Big problem.

I'm tired and hungry and someone should please tell me why I'm wearing a headband when I have a sinus infection. Ouch.

1 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!