We're Stoked - So to Speak

Wednesday, Feb. 16, 2005 07:45

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

I had great plans for a long weekend at the end of this week. Boy has a Dr. appointment and I planned to take the whole of Friday off as a treat to myself and to him. (He's on Winter Break this week, so I thought it would be nice if he didn't have to spend the whole week alone!) I even had productive plans for the time! We've purchased a new bed for Boy and I was going to set about the transformation of his room.

Boy had plans for yesterday as well. His buddy was going to a museum and was planning to take Boy along for the day. Hubband had made all the arrangements over the weekend and Boy was extremely excited. To us, his parents, this was great, too, because it meant another day that he wouldn't have to spend alone on his pointless vacation. It was all working out wonderfully.

Wonderfully, that is, until Boy woke up yesterday with a fever of 101.8! Then everyone's plans went to crap.

Poor Boy. He is rarely sick and the timing was just so bad on this one. I stayed home with him, doing the caretaker bit (which involved a lot of laying around on my part and a really good bowl of chicken soup), but there really isn't much to do for him when he's sick. I was not using that as an excuse, though. I was still a monument to inactivity. Non-productive to the nth degree, that's me!

And, of course, now I'm getting sick, too! Woke up with a splitting headache. The scratchy throat/watery eyes business has already started. Grrrr!

Boy is still upset because his friend called with a counter-offer to go to the arcade on Thursday, but only if he's well and so far, he is not. As of this morning he was still a little furnace. He's not coughing or sneezing, but he's still stoking those coals. Until he's normal, he's housebound. (Of course I could stuff him full of Tylenol and send him on his way to spread illness about the land, but that just wouldn't be right, would it?)

Hubband is still sick, too, from the illness he contracted over the weekend. (Could be the same thing, but I'm not really thinking so.) We're just a lovely house full of germs these days. Come on over, why don't you?

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!