Ditching

Friday, Feb. 18, 2005 14:13

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Reading makes me want to write.� This I know.� But it seems that reading is also making me want to have more interesting dreams.� I didn't write it down this morning, while I still remembered it, but I do know that I once again had multiple dreams last night.� At least I'm having multiples of something.


It's cold again.� This is the part of February that really sucks.�
It teases you into thinking Winter's losing its edge and then - WHAM! - you're
right back to wearing layers of sweaters and multiple pairs of sox.� Last
Saturday was such a fine, sunny, over-freezing day and now where back to bleak
and sharp and...ugh.� February's the only time I can actually picture
myself living somewhere else.


Work has been wicked slow this week.� It makes me nervous.� More so
now that I hear about changes coming that will make our part of the processing
easier.� If it's easier, we should be able to do it faster and that will
either make the job less boring or diminish the need for so many people.�
Sometimes I can see myself doing this forever and sometimes - like yesterday
when the team leader called us "lazy" - I just can't wait to get home and go job
hunting.� (I usually get over that by the time I pull into the garage,
though.)


I did apply for another job in my previous field.� Actually, the job
would be with a company who was a customer of my previous employer.� I sent
my resume off on Tuesday and haven't heard a thing, so I'm thinking they don't
want to hire someone from that company.� Either that, or they've purchased
the product we created for them and took some of staff with them.� Either
way, it could bode as bad for me as it could good.� I don't know what
people said about me after I left.� Of course the job seems perfect, which
is why I'm so anxious.� I actually received a job offer from this company
once, a few jobs ago, and in hind-sight, should have taken it.� But I was
going for the bucks then, and they couldn't match what the other company was
giving me.� Now, I'd be happy to take the salary they were offering at the
time.� (But I don't need them to know that yet.)� There would be a
commute, but not a bad one.� There are about a dozen different ways to mix
it up and keep from getting bored.� Oh, I hate looking for work.


Boy has his doctor's appointment in an hour.� He was supposed to be
getting his physical, but I'm not sure that's going to work with the fever he's
been running.� I'm wondering if he has strep throat or just bronchitis.�
He's been running a pretty steady temp between 102 and 103 since Tuesday.�
It comes and goes, nothing quite as bad a Tuesday night, but I keep waiting for
it to just go away and it doesn't.� Boy hates being sick and having spent
the entire Winter Break barking like a trained seal is not sitting well with
him.� I hate having a job where I can't be home with him when he needs me.�
I remember what it was like to be home sick all day alone.� It sucked.�
Even if one can take care of oneself, they shouldn't have to.�� There
was one time I remember the neighbor had to let herself in because I wasn't
answering the phone.� Turned out I was delirious and she had to call my
mother to take me to the Dr. (I don't remember if my mother felt bad or not.�
Seems to me she was pissed about it, but that's pretty much the mom I remember
growing up. Pissy.)


I'm off to read some more before we have t leave

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!