Monday, Monday

Monday, Feb. 21, 2005 15:13

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

The Ex-Wife sent the Husband and I an email today asking for advice on how to repair her damaged relationship with her son. I will surely go to hell for how shiney this makes the little stone of pettiness in the bottom of my heart. As far as what to tell her? I got nothin'. I really know nothing about what happened between them and the only advise I could give her would be to wait it out. As I mentioned to the Husband, the only difference I see between our relationship with him and hers is that we let him treat us like crap and have no expectations of him. She finally got tired of that behavior and he moved on. (Husband will, of course, point out to me how wrong I am about this. I expect him to. And really, the kid is 21. The worst you can do is try to make him feel as badly about the situation as you do, and where's the warm fuzzy in that?)


Boy is almost entirely well. He woke up Saturday morning sans fever and has remained so for the whole of the weekend. He was a bit down last night, but seemed appropriately thrilled this morning when bad weather cancelled school, giving him at least one day of vacation where he's not a germ farm.

This weekend, we took down his kid bed (which is kind of loft-like) and put together his new platform bed (which has drawers under it). In between, I removed all the dust bunnies and toy fragments. It actually smells quite a bit better in there now. As part of this room redo, we've moved all of his toys to the dining room and will be sorting through them. I've taken out two plastic tubs full and hope to put back only one. We'll see how that goes.

Next I tackle the craft room and try to make sense of all my craft crap. (Disorganization is my enemy when it comes to creativity.



Saturday evening we went to a "dinner party" at CWF's home. She really pulled out all the stops. Her home virtually sparkled and dinner was all about the yum. There were just three couples, the third couple bringing their two kids. I thought CWF was doing well being around the kids, but then she called me the next morning in tears over a series of events that just freshened her pain. I had honestly thought she was doing a bit better recently, but I guess this pushed her over the edge.

She stopped by after church (where they were having a surprise baptism) and I let her snot all over my shirt while the Husband lurked uncomfortably about, trying not to get involved in emotional girl stuff. She had stopped crying by the time she left, but I think she probably hadn't completely stopped for the day. As usual, I didn't feel like I knew the right thing to say or do, but I did the best I could.



I took myself (in the blinding blizzard) to see The*Aviator, yesterday. For the most part, I enjoyed it. I can certainly see why Cate Blanchett is getting all the praise, although I think Kate Beckinsale's Ava Gardner got better lines. I was once again struck by the coloration of the film, the first half of the movie was almost exclusively in peaches and teals, right down to the eyes and lips. It made me want to go home and play with color, but I'm not sure what it adds to the story. Also, from what I can tell, the story was fairly accurate. (I thought the plane crash scene might have been overdone, but it turns out it was right on the money. Which, I think, makes it even more of a great scene.)

I have to say, however, that the movie ran long as expected, especially in the last half hour. Also, I still am not impressed with Mr. DiCaprio and I don't find him a physical match in the least. So that was a little distracting.

Alan Alda was good, but I'm not sure he was great. I guess he might have made more of an impact had I not already heard so much about his performance. And Alan Alda is usually Alan Alda whenever I see him. Even when he's Hawkeye Pierce I'm aware that he's Alan Alda.

All in all, I'm glad I went to see it, but my money would be on Million*Dollar*Baby if I were voting, which I'm not.

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!