Everyone Can Bite Me

Friday, Feb. 25, 2005 15:22

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

OMIGOD! IT IS SO BORING AT WORK!

Sorry, but it is. I cannot remember a time - Christmas holiday's aside - when it has been this slow. And I am soooooo very tired this morning, being as it is the day of the month when I could most use a transfusion. I started the day with a latte', but I'm thinking that I might need to pump up the caffiene volume with a Coke sometime soon.

I think Parminder Nagra is one of the most beautiful people I've ever seen in my entire life. I think that's the main reason I've remained faithful to ER through last year's really boring season. Not only is she physically beautiful, but then she opens her mouth and that melodious voice comes singing out. Yes, that's right, I have a big fat girl crush on Dr. Neela. Deal.

This morning I woke up early, showered, groomed, dressed, made my son's lunch, deboned a chicken, bought a latte' and came to work.

We've decided that all of our customers who actually know what they're doing must be at a convention this week.

I've actually filled out the college application in anticipation of sending it in. I need more lines in the section for "Please list all colleges/universities previously attended". Seven might not be enough. And I don't understand all the "placement" testing required if you're an adult and a high-school graduate. Yes, I've forgotten everything I learned in College Algebra, but I forgot it ten minutes after walking out the door. How long it's been since I had the class has no impact whatsoever.

Last night I did not work on the disaster that is my craft room. Instead, I went with my husband to Sam's*Club and bought more $5 chicken and some other foodstuffs. The bill came to less than $75, which I think has caught the interest of the Guinness people because I've never gotten out of there before without dropping at least $100.

We're about to head out for a team lunch at Apple*bee's. I hate Apple*bee's. In my opinion, they food is not good and their prices are too high. It is, however, close to work so whenever the idea comes about to have one of these little group bonding experiences, this is where we end up. There are several reasons why I don't want to go. I don't like the food, I don't want to spend the money, it's cold, I end up driving (which means I end up waiting at both ends), work piles up while you're gone so everyone suffers, I don't like eating in smokey bars. But good Lord help me when I say I don't want to go. Then I'm the bitch who won't play with the rest of the class. I always make a big show of refusing to go and then cave in anyway, so my cover is completely blown.


Okay, I went to lunch. It wasn't horrible and it killed 90 minutes in an otherwise incredibly boring day (see paragraph one). However...people should not be angry with me for saying in advance that I don't plan to go. At least I tell you! There we were, five of us sitting at a table for ten. Two girls went to the wrong restaurant. One refused to go claiming "errands". And one was coming to work late - and still isn't here at 3pm. So...there. It took the five of us quite a while to get warmed up so that conversation did not awkwardly halt every few seconds, but we managed.

This whole lunch thing happened because we couldn't all agree on a convenient night to have a Happy Hour gathering. I wasn't at the meeting, but there seemed to be a conflict with the two dates chosen so that everyone couldn't attend either night. Thus, the lunch was substituted. Well, guess what! Everyone doesn't want to go to lunch either. Sometimes everyone thinks that 40 plus hours is enough time to spend with people who don't know your middle name. Sometimes it's okay if everyone doesn't go to this get - together and maybe they'll show up at the next one.

Geez, I a crabby one today, huh?

Anyway, some of us are going out next Friday and if everyone can't make it, we can live with that.

Now, it's the end of the day and I'm going to meet the Husband at an Irish Pub near where he works and enjoy his semi-monthly work ritual, cause they don't care if everyone comes or not, as long as the beer is cold.

1 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!