Why Poppy Seeds?

Tuesday, Mar. 01, 2005 07:54

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

I just finished what is probably the most messy of all breakfasts: the Everything Bagel. Considering all one will taste is the garlic, I don't understand the point of all the seeds that will only roll off and make a mess. (I have never known anyone to purposely order a Sesame Seed/Poppy Seed Bagel.) At least it will be good entertainment as I spend the morning picking seeds from between my teeth.


So, yesterday was fun. I spent the day at home, recovering from my Oscar hangover. As usual, it wasn't as productive a day as I had planned, but I was able to get going pretty well by the time the Husband came home. He was busy putzing around with "the list" and I was watching Oprah. I heard him curse extremely loudly ( no big deal, happens all the time) but then I heard him call my name in a tone that meant "come quick, I may be dying". So I did.

Tuesday is garbage day, so he had been out in the garage preparing the cans for pickup. Since we have the Boy bed dismantled in the garage, it's a little cramped for parking on my side. Also, the huge ladder we bought is leaning up against the wall, right by the passenger door of my truck and I tend to bump it. I asked him if we could move it. Once. Three weeks ago. Yesterday, because the planets had aligned just right, he decided to move the ladder, and in doing so knocked the lawn edger off the wall. I managed to hit his hand with the full weight of the blade and by the time I made it to the downstairs bathroom, it was pretty clear we were going for a ride. (Just as soon as I regained conscienceness.)

Luckily, it hadn't started to snow, yet, and the hospital is in the opposite direction of the really bad traffic, so we were there within 20 minutes. It took us only a few minutes to be seen by a doctor, 15 minutes until the PA came for her first look, 20 minutes before she returned with the sucture kit, and 30 minutes before the doctor came to check her work. We waited about 40 minutes for the nurse who was supposedly coming to dress the wound and give us our paperwork, but Husband was quite ready to go. We decided not to wait.

We put some ointment and a bandage on it at home and all was well. It was a very clean cut, easily closed, and Husband had just had a tetnus booster a couple of weeks ago, so that wasn't necessary. This morning it looked great, no redness or puffiness, already starting to heal. And it was his left hand, so it won't even bother him while working.


The snow continued through the night and Boy is, once again, enjoying a snow day. The little bugger. How is he supposed to learn anything if he's never in school? Husband shoveled both last night and this morning, so there won't be that much to do tonight. He loves to shovel. Freak.

I made good time coming to work, but so far, I'm the only one here. Serves me right for calling off yesterday, I guess.


The rest of the weekend was nice, but action-packed. Friday I went to meet the Husband and his co-workers at this nice Irish Pub in Farmington. (Again, in the snow.) It was nice, but not a drive I'd be willing to make again until summer. Saturday was "National*Scrapbook*Day" and I spent it sitting on hard plastic chairs at the local church for twelve hours, giggling like a mad woman. I do so enjoy the people I scrapbook with. I was also pleased to finish the 1980's and start 1990, so I should be able to finish up my box of old photos by the end of Scrap Camp in a few weeks.

As I was cropping out the beers and cigarettes from most of my pictures during that era, I was mentioning to a friend that it was amazing how many pictures I had of people I couldn't remember for the life of me. I ended up pitching quite a few. (Hey, if I can't remember your name, you don't belong in my album!) My friend indicated that perhaps if every picture didn't have beer in it, I might be able to remember some of the people.

Good Point.

Sunday was Oscar day, of course. I don't know why, but I had been looking forward to it more than I have in recent years. I thought Chris Rock did a wonderful job, very funny and respectful. (I'm sure Jude Law has a sense of humor, even if Sean Penn doesn't. And I had just been asking my mother when Jude Law sleeps because he is in every single movie there is!) I was dancing in the living room over joy of Morgan Freeman winning. Hopefully, this means he will be offered many more wonderful parts to play. And I'm glad - politics aside - that "Million*Dollar*Baby" won so handily, because I think it's one of the best movies I've seen in years.


I should get to work now, cleaning up what mess was leftover from yesterday. Maybe more later. Maybe not.

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!