Today's Word is YAWN...

Wednesday, Mar. 02, 2005 09:46

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

I am exhausted. Last night was not good for the sleeping. Husband was alternately snoring like a longshoreman and making this fluid gurgling noise in the back of his throat that was totally grossing me out. So, it was down to the sofa for me. Then Husband came downstairs to cough (?) at about 2:30. Then Boy fell out of bed. (Which is funny if you think about it. We finally got him a bed close to the floor and he falls out!) Then Husband came downstairs to be pissed about his cold symptoms. After all of that, I ended up doing that funky thing where I wake up every half hour to check the clock.

I made a great dinner last night. I had purchased some marinades from the Tastefully*Simple party I went to a few weeks ago and have been dying to use them. Since Husband has done the grocery shopping without me the last two weeks, however, we had no meat. So, I stopped at the market here by work with the actual butcher's counter to pick up some chicken breasts. While I was there, I spied some pork loin chops that looked so pretty, I just had to buy some. I diced the pork and cooked it in a bit of olive oil, adding a bit of rice wine vinegar and some Mrs*Dash. (If you have not tried the Tomato Basil Garlic, you haven't lived!) While the meet was cooking I sliced up two small white onions and one large red pepper (with my cool Japanese knife). I poured the Honey*Teriyaki sauce over the meet, then added the veggies. After the peppers had cooked a bit, I added some broccoli, then cooked it all until the broccoli turned that wonderful color of green. I served it over rice that was, unfortunately, a little under done. (One day, I will get it right.) It was very, very good.

I broke my no eating after 7:30 rule. (The only rule I'm currently trying to follow!) I had ice cream at about 8pm. Then I felt like crap, so I guess that's a lesson learned. (Just to be fair, I stayed up late reading so it would still work out that I finished eating two to three hours before bedtime.) Yeah, I know. Whatever.

Things are getting funky here at work again. One coworker (my favorite, at one time) has been consistently not showing up due to car trouble. I'm not sure this will fly as an excuse, however, since the Team Lead offered to come pick her up yesterday. Also, I am now RT's confidant. I think this is because I've proven to her that I can be trusted not to spill her secrets to the rest of the group. I've proven a couple of times that I'm not a gossip. At least not in person. (Hee.)

Since I waited until after 9pm to start working on the Craft Room ReOrganization Project (or CRROP!), I was tired but wired when it came time to go to bed. I took the opportunity to spend some time in my reading chair with my current book ("Traveling Mercies" by Anne Lamot). It was so nice, sitting there in the silence. There were just the noises of the house to keep me company - a steady wave of white noise to punctuate the lack of voices. Sitting in that chair, where I have sat my entire life, was like getting a hug. I could look at my china cabinet and see my grandmother's wedding crystal, my great-grandmother's tea cups, the hand-painted dishes of her neighbor, all the little trinkets given to me by friends and family. It was comforting in a way that's difficult to describe. There, in the house, I felt at home. I felt as if it were my place; my space. It seems silly but, unless I'm alone in the house, I always feel a little like a guest. There's a constant awareness of other people's feelings, needs, likes and dislikes, that tickles the back of my mind on a daily basis. (This is also where guilt lives, btw, and I think I often offer it a cup of tea and ask it to stay a while.) I don't think everyone can appreciate a moment - I'm glad I'm able to.

Did I mention that I'm very tired?

Otherwise, I'm feeling pretty good. This is a feeling I should remember, because I'm feeling well because I'm trying to steer my diet into the direction of healthy. Over the weekend - especially Sunday evening - I overindulged and really felt like crap until Monday afternoon. I shaped up a little yesterday and am feeling a bit better. It's either because I actually ate my quota of veggies yesterday (large salad at lunch and all those onions, peppers, broc's last night), or it's because I'm just becoming more aware - once again - of what I'm putting in my mouth.

It is so quiet here today. Quiet + Sleepy do not make for a very alert office staff. Even my morning Latte did nothing to perk me. Maybe, just maybe, work will do it. : )


0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!