For the Frickin' Crab Cakes, Whattaya THINK?

Thursday, Mar. 03, 2005 15:31

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Why do women humiliate their children at their workplace? Currently, there is a woman two cubes over from me, just reading her child the riot act. In my day, a simple, "We'll talk about this at home" carried more weight than my mother being all pissy in front of her co-workers. She had a wonderful phone manner. As a matter of fact, I used to call her at work for the really touchy issues, just for that reason.


We're going to Baltimore for our anniversary trip this year! Whoo-hoo! I've always wanted to go there. The Husband sent me an email yesterday saying that the Tigers were playing the O's on Memorial Day weekend - which just happens to be the weekend after our anniversary. So I bought the game tickets and booked a hotel in the harbor district and we're good to go. I already have the time off, so I may as well just enjoy myself. Nana will stay with the Boy while we pretend to be newlyweds.

You know Chesapeake Bay has to have some awesome ways for me to include at least one boat ride - and they have the National Aquarium there!

I'm very excited. One of the most exciting things is the knowledge that I will have saved the money that will allow us to go. And I still have almost three whole months to save even more!

I'm starting to get a little giddy about the savings thing. I guess I didn't realize how much I was spending before. (Okay, I was in denial of how much I was spending before.) Now I know that by cutting back we can not only make it, but still enjoy the good stuff. Just as long as I remember the good stuff isn't required every day.


I finished the CRROP. Or at least mostly finished. I still want to go through my craft books to see which ones are useful and which ones I will never open again. I think I'd like to try to arrange a book swap with the girls in my art group. I also need to gather all of my paint brushes and see which can be salvaged and which are headed for the trash. I really need to break the habit of leaving them sit in water. Then the water dries up and the brushes are splintered from the water that's soaked into the handles. (I know, it's disgusting. But also why I only buy cheap paint brushes.)

I'm not sure if my craft room is any more organized or not. At least I have a better idea of what I have to work with. I didn't find the mounted stamp I've been missing for a few months, but I did find the recharger for my Dremel, my great-grandfather's mechanical pencils, all four kinds of shrink plastic I bought at different times because I didn't think I had any, and my polymer clay and tools.

I want to start carrying a little sketch book with me so I can write stuff down that I want to do later. I tend to come up with ideas during these long boring work days and then never remember them when it's time to sit down at the table.


It was incredibly cold today, but the weather man promises a more normal weekend. I am looking forward to it, since our plans for the weekend seem to be increasing with alarming speed.

And now it's time to go!!

1 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!