Missing Her

Wednesday, Mar. 23, 2005 20:46

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Yesterday was spent at the funeral of our friend Tracie. She was 34 years old and had been battling cancer for the better part of the last ten years. Ten years that she spent squeezing for each drop of goodness that life can give. She was special and wonderful and made us better for having known her. All of those cliches.

She was a monster Red Wings fan. At least 30 people at the funeral wore jerseys. There were skates carved into the corners of her casket.

Guests spilled out of the largest room and into the hallway. The line of cars going to the internment snaked around over a mile of road.

She had the most incredible aquamarine eyes, and perfect freckled skin. She never wore a stitch of makeup.

Her partner brought her dog to the funeral and he sat at her feet through the whole service. When the paster paused, we could hear the dog panting through the mic.

In what has been a week or more of cold, brittle weather; yesterday was bright, sunny and crisp. It made us smile to think she'd have it no other way.

We had the wake at the local Irish pub, where she is like family to the owners. Many a tear was shed and many a toast was made in her honor.

I think everyone felt a little closer to each other yesterday. We showed a little more care, a little more concern.

I loved her even more than I knew. She was an amazingly positive and caring person. As our neighbor, her good friend, said, "Trace lived BIG!" And she made others want to as well.

But I felt at peace yesterday, seeing her everywhere and missing her at the same time. I've been missing her for months, as she was unable to leave her bed and unable to have much company. I've never been to a funeral for a friend before. I wasn't used to seeing so many people that I knew. So many of us that loved her and each other. (We knew her through both our friends and our neighbors, so we knew almost everyone in the room.)There was laughter and tears and we saw her partner and family without worry for the first time in so very long.

I just wanted to get this all down so I won't forget.

Outside the bar is a lovely sign, "An Irish Toast to a Dear Friend, Tracie Phillips."

4 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!