Clive Owen May Be My Third Husband

Monday, Apr. 04, 2005 12:35

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

My eyes are itchey and red today. No lovely Al*may "bring out the blue in my eyes" makeup today. I would have long ago rubbed that crap right off. I'm unsure as to whether this burning is attributed to the time change (sucks), the onset of actual spring, or the fact that I stayed up until midnight attempting to hand-bead my altered fabric book. It doesn't matter. It still hurts, regardless of the cause. I'm alternating eye drops and enthusiastic rubbing to make them feel better. (I'm predicting they'll feel better when I get in the car to go home.)

Also, my left heel is being a pain. I managed to drag it across a nail/screw that protrudes from the floor in our downstairs doorway. Due to the protective callous layer I've developed (years of wearing backless shoes), there was only minimal bleeding. However, putting my rather substantial body weight on the injury tends to make it whine.

I'm a rather pathetic klutz today.


I think I'm ready to get serious regarding the weight. I think the Easter candy season actually added a few pounds, which I'm not happy about but I don't plan to dwell. Let's just move on. So far, here are the rules:


    *No eating after 7:30 during the week, 8pm on weekends.
    *Avoid soda of all kinds and absolutely no Coke.
    *No ice cream.
    *No pizza.

That's it, so far. I'm going to be adding more, but I want to make sure the rules are going to work for me. At this point, I've been doing really well with the not eating late in the day. The ice cream is taking care of itself. (A spur of the moment trip to DQ made me quite ill on Friday. I ended up throwing away at least $3 worth of Moolatta.) I've easily avoided the pizza and Coke, while a constant craving - especially in the morning, is proving to be no problem either.

I'm giving myself another week before I add anything extra to the plan. Obviously, exercise will be a requirement, and I think I'm starting to get a feel for some portion control. One thing I did yesterday is order something with a vegetable I like and purposely divide the meat (Honey Balsamic Chicken from Macaroni*Grill) to take home. I rarely box my leftovers because I end up throwing them out, but this morning I took the chicken and some mixed greens and made a salad for lunch. (It was so very yummy, too!)

I'm going to take this very slowly and try to make permanent changes. Slow and steady. One day at a time. (Cliche' cliche'...)


The chicken was part of the "Nana's Birthday Extravaganza!" yesterday. I took her out for breakfast, to a movie, shopping at her favorite store, and then to an early dinner. We gave her a watch and I made her a great tri-fold tag card with pockets for a Tar*get gift card and a concert ticket. She loved it.

The movie selections much sucked, so I convinced her to see "Sin City" and we both loved it! What a great looking movie. It was futuristic and yet so old-school "Film Noir". I think some of the reviews I read gave it a bad rap and didn't really see the director's vision (as I understand it) to bring the graphic novel to screen in its original form. Sure the writing was cliche' and hokey. It was supposed to be. I especially liked the parts with Elija Wood, because he looked so creepily insane. I also didn't find the ending confusing at all. (Didn't anyone see "Pulp Fiction", for goodness sake? The linear story line is dead, people.)

I'm interested in finding out what other "real people" think of it. (CWF didn't like it - not surprising - but her husband loved it.)


Just had the monthly meeting with the new boss. Seems things are looking good for moi. I'm being freed up once again to work on "special projects", etc. I was mostly pleased when she noted that I can present our team's point of view with the customer in a professional way. I like that, because to me the customer is the one I have to please.

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!