Back Patting

Monday, Apr. 11, 2005 12:23

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

This past weekend should go down in history as the most beautiful weekend of 2005. I cannot imagine how it could have been any better. The fact that I spent a good amount of time lying around waiting on other people's decisions barely even bothered me. I just extended my day into the primetime hours and enjoyed!

Friday I skipped out of work in the afternoon to attend a sudden piano recital of Boy's. He'd known about it for weeks and only mentioned it specifically on Thursday. I'd told him I could not attend, since we'd made plans for a goodbye luncheon for M. at work. Then M. decided to screw the last day and I decided to screw the afternoon. Boy was thrilled that I was one of four parents in attendance. I was thrilled to be out in the sunny afternoon for what amounted to about 40 minutes of Middle School concertos. It was actually quite interesting, playing a little game of "remember when" with myself. I was only startled a bit when I saw a boy and girl hugging in the hallway. They were so young and tiny. My son, however, saves his kisses for me and is not afraid to plant one on my cheek in front of his whole class.

I took the opportunity of a bonus afternoon to visit Grandma and then take a nap. I was still napping when Husband got home. I felt as if I could have slept straight through until morning, so I left him his sports and went upstairs to watch "Being Julia". (A nice movie and Annette Bening is so cute!)

Saturday I sat around all day waiting for the Husband to tell me when he wanted to go grocery shopping. Seems there was a baseball game on, so it ended up being earlier than later. I gave myself a french manicure, watched some TV, and played about a zillion games of Freecell. Finally, we dragged Boy off to the local "everything under one roof" store, then dropped off the groceries and Boy, who stated he was too exhausted to go to dinner. Yay, a serendipitous date! Off we went to get fancy hamburgers and fries. (Where I ordered iced tea and got extra points for not ordering the deep-fried cheese "cakes"!) A quick stop on the way home to visit with some friends and to get Slur*pees. Then home where I watched "The Forgotten" (lame) and the men watched "Total Recall" (lamer).

Sunday I had plans to coffee with CWF "after church", but my idea of "after church" and hers were off by a few hours. This is time I spent wandering the yard and thinking about flowers. All of the neighbors were out and about, comparing notes on what would be needed to bring the lawns up to snuff. The beautiful weather of the last week or so meant some people (Husband included) were forced to water lawns. I will gladly pay the higher water bill, at this point.

Coffee was fun, although CWF was distracted by her upcoming trip to FLA (Mom is having surgery) and good news of her own to share. Her EPT came back positive and even though it's early early early in the game, she says she's not worried about this one, that somehow it feels right. I am so hoping she's right and this is the one. I don't think she could stand to lose another one.

Afterward, I spent the afternoon alone, itching to be moving. I stopped at the garden store to look at plants and bought the daffodils I'd been pining for these past weeks. I stopped at the shoe warehouse and roamed up and down the isle, just to convince myself that I have all the shoes I need. I stopped at the fancy grocery and bought $25 worth of cheese and fruit, then went home to make myself the most amazing omelette and do more garden planning.

While I feel like I wasted a lot of the beautiful weather being inactive, I am proud of myself on a number of levels. Did you know that Slur*pees come in small size? And that's actually enough for me. I ate breakfast on both weekend mornings and did my best to balance my calories throughout the rest of the day. I avoided my usual "treats" at the grocery and instead of eating a popsicle last night, ate an actual piece of fruit. I didn't have a bagel or a muffin this morning either!

Today I'm pleased because the ladies I was walking with last week were both unable to go today. Not only did I go without them, but I walked farther!

I jumped on the scale this morning and it appears that I have lost about 5 pounds, maybe more. I'm trying not to let me sabotage myself by thinking, "Great, now I can relax a little." That's not how weight is lost, that's how weight is maintained. I am going to continue not beating myself up for the "misteps" I take and patting myself on the back for the times I face the demons. Maybe this will just work.

And if this is as far as I get, at least I can button my coat now.

3 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!