Are You Sure It's Monday?

Monday, Apr. 18, 2005 13:39

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

I swear, I just can't stop gushing about this weather. Of course, I haven't been outside today in what is supposed to be humid hotness, either. Sunny 70 degree days just make me so damned happy. I had never figured myself to be one whose attitude depended upon the weather a lot, but it seems I have become that person.

Saturday, the Husband had to go into the office for an emergency project and I looked forward to a day of laying about without him vaccuming a chalk outline around my body. Instead it was like some kind of audoban nesting instinct came over me and I could not stop cleaning. It started with my closet, switching winter for summer and tossing everything I hadn't worn in a year. Then I actually felt the urge to evict the dustbunnies from the closet floors. This led to full Swiffering of all visable surfaces, which led to me cleaning out all of my dresser drawers. Since I had already worked up a sweat at this point, I moved on to Swiffer all the light fixtures and the ceiling fans, then the door frames and spider homes in all the corners and the drape tops. Then I found myself in the kitchen cleaning off the top of the refridgerator and the microwave and polishing the sink and... well, it just gets more obnoxious after that. Don't ask me what's going on. I think it was because Husband wasn't home to make me feel (use as an excuse to feel) inadequate. The SIL is also due next weekend, so I was trying to pre-clean - our free time just gets smaller and smaller from here on out and I thought it would help lessen the stress. Also, I was definately using housework as an aerobic activity. (Trust me, it is!)

I have found that anger is probably the biggest trigger to my eating. I had worked all day on the house and thought I would treat Husband to dinner out, but when he got home he had already been to "lunch" with coworkers and wasn't in the mood to go out. Sigh. Stupid. I wish I could just say, "Hey, I'm angry that you spent time with your coworkers at the bar while your family was waiting for you and wasting this beautiful day." But it wouldn't end there and I always end up in the pity pool.

So. Just. Quit. It.

Tonight I need to tackle the craft room, permanently moving out all of the winter paraphenalia that's collected on the counters and perhaps moving the sewing/ironing gear to the upper levels. Oooh, maybe I'll by one of those organizer things for the hall closet! Yeah. And then I have cards to make and presents to by for upcoming birthdays and holidays and trying like hell to stay on top of everything.

Oh, and this weekend the Boy wanted to bake a cake, so we did. He mostly did it himself, with a little anal interference from his Mother. It's a chocolate layer cake with sprinkles all over the top in the shape of moons, stars, sea creatures and dinosaurs. He calls it "Dinosaurs and Sea Creatures Mud Wrestling At Night". The kid is something. And it turned out to be one of the more lovely cakes ever made in our house. (I'm teaching him all my Martha Stewart secrets right off the bat so he won't know the pain of trying to frost a cake that hasn't cooled.)

I should get back to finding something to do. It is hella slow today. Which is good, I guess, since we two more people leaving the bus this month and possibly another. Whatever, I'm not going anywhere for a while. If I get another job that pays more they'll just expect me to work harder. Puh-Leaze.

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!