IEP is OK

Wednesday, Apr. 27, 2005 17:58

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Oh my good Lord.

I had my son�s IEP meeting today. This is the meeting where we decide what sort of help he requires to compete with the non-ADD kids. Maybe compete isn�t the correct word. It�s what it feels like, though, when I�m sitting in the smallest possible room discussing my child�s inability to put pen to paper as quickly as an almost 13 year old should. Last year, I actually thought it was no big deal and didn�t go. I was wrong. It�s a huge deal. It�s not a mistake I�ll be making again in the future. My Boy is smart as a whip, he just can�t make the connection between his head and the paper. I don�t know why and at the point I don�t really care. I just know that it�s a problem and if it means I have to get all up in the teachers� respective grills, then that�s what I�ll have to do.

However, I didn�t have to do that this time. This time the teachers really seemed to grasp the concept of what Boy deals with on a daily basis and we had all of our collective ducks in a row when it came to setting goals for next year when he�ll be in the (gulp) 8th grade. As a matter of fact, the only bad part of the whole day was when I discovered he had hoodwinked me this whole marking period, telling me he had no homework. He had homework. He was just lying about it. (Yes, I lied to my parents about homework, too. But I had the grades to slide by without their suspecting anything. He really doesn�t.) Some of this is my fault, too. I�ve gotten to be quite the slacker when it comes to parental policing. I�ve taken his word for it, mostly because it was easier if I did.

Tonight, I turned down the opportunity to work late so I could come home and be one on one with the kid about his homework. I revealed the �Responsibility Checklist� I�d created this morning during an unusually long and boring conference call and we discussed the fact that there were going to be consequences for unchecked boxes. Then we went through his book bag and pulled out all of the unfinished work he had in there. He got a little upset when he realized how behind he�d allowed himself to get, but I told him he has through the weekend to get caught up � and it really looks like more than there is. He is now happily working on the project that is due tomorrow and probably feeling a little lighter in the soul.


Speaking of slacking, I�ve been doing so on my own plans, too. My excuse is my �woman time� but in reality I�ve just been letting it slip. Part of it is that work is now hellacious busy and I�m not making time for the extra effort it takes to avoid temptation. What was a department of 7 worker bees and 2 supervisors has become a department of 5 worker bees and one supervisor. Then when many of the worker bees can�t seem to complete a full week, it makes for a rough time. Luckily, it only felt really out of hand yesterday and today I feel much more in control of things. There will be overtime available, too. It�s audit time again.


The weather here has been a source of much laughter. Last week�s temps in the 80�s gave way to a weekend where a foot or more of snow fell. Anything that fell before dark on Saturday melted away quickly, but Sunday Husband was barbecuing in several inches of the white stuff. It continued to snow, pile up, melt, snow, pile up, and melt all through Sunday. Monday afternoon when I left work it was a balmy 58 degrees and sunny. There was barely a trace of our formerly winter weather. My only hope is that my lilacs, which are starting to bud, are not negatively affected by this crap.


It seemed like there�s lots to write about, but I can�t seem to remember any of it. I�m tired and hungry right now, waiting patiently for Boy to finish his homework so we can eat. At least the Husband is respectfully quiet tonight. That�s a bonus for me, too.

1 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!