All Is Not Forgotten - Just Really Busy

Thursday, May. 05, 2005 19:12

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

You're wondering where I've been? Me,too. Obviously oblivious to reality because it came crashing down this week. I promised the Husband I would not write about our little family crisis, and I won't, except to say that no one died, cheated, stole, impregnated, or otherwise damaged any person or thing. Last night, the Husband and I did a little lifestyle reality check, made a few adjustments, and managed to be come closer because of them. (Who knew a crisis would bond us this way?) So, everyone's fine, in case you were worried. (Probably not until I mentioned it, huh?)

The most pressing reason for my lack of updating is work. Work has been a zoo these past two or three weeks. We are in the process of training those who will make the load lighter, but this only adds to the current burden. We walked on Monday after an entire week of laziness and I thought my legs would come unhinged from the shock. Today was better. Working of overtime has me pretty much abolishing all of my other "rules", so I like that I'm moving again, at least.

I was at Scrap Camp over the weekend. Fun stuff, but I think I'll skip the massage next time. It's just not the right atmosphere. And I think I'll take some of my own snacks, because the food there is probably the same they serve at prisons. But I really had fun. (Hee!) I just love, love, love the people I hang with at these things - otherwise I probably wouldn't go - and I do enjoy the travel back in time, as well. (Although, I up to 1994, so by next year I should be completely current. Then I don't know what I'll do.) I feel like I've become especially close with one of the ladies there and that makes me happy. She's one of those wonderfully nice, completely competent people that I want to be when I grow up. Whenever that is.

Speaking of scrapping, we've decided that it's just not in the cards to go to Baltimore this month. We are disappointed, but I'm breathing a sigh of relief on several fronts. It would have added to our already chubby credit card bill and I think we were overly ambitious regarding the amount of time we'd be spending away from home...alone...together. I, personally, hate sandwiching in a long trip between full work weeks. I prefer to have at least a day to recoup. We're still trying to decide if we want to go away for just an overnighter, but it's sounding more and more tempting to just stay home and relax.

This month starts the whirlwind of summer activities, anyway. Saturday Nana and I are taking a craft show in the morning and then we're meeting friends at their house for dinner in the afternoon. (I'm bringing my macaroni salad and something else. I don't know what, yet.) Sunday, being Mother's Day, is full as well. My part of the day will involve the whole family getting up early to hike to the nesting grounds and see/hear the baby Blue Herons. Then I'm being dropped off with the grandmas to have brunch while the boys go to the niece's annual dinner. Nana and I will be taking in a movie after dinner. (I'm leaning toward "Crash", but she seemed less than thrilled. It might be "Monster-In-Law" just to keep things light.) Husband has already given me a couple of gifts, and then I have something special from the boys, I guess, coming later in the week. Husband does not usually taunt me like this, but he's already got my present wrapped and won't let me open it. Hmmmm. As for what I'm getting my own people, I have bought Nana a CD she couldn't find and Grandma gets a collection of greeting cards because she won't give mine out. (Says they're too pretty.) I'm going to pack them both into handmade boxes that I've recently learned to create and that will have to do. (Of course, I still have to make both the boxes and their cards, but that won't be too big of a deal, will it?)

For Father's Day, I'm going to make something for the Husband. His sister brought a huge bag full of photographs from his Dad's Army days. She figured, since Husband had the suit and his ID card already, this would be the place to bring the photos. I have no idea who most of these people are - and Husband doesn't either - except for the few names written on them. I still think they will make a cool album and I'm going to do that for him. I think he'll like it. Think I can pull it off in a month? Sure...

On a totally unrelated note...I've been using a mechanical pencil at work that used to belong to my great-grandfather. It's that beautiful spring green color and the barrel is bakelite. I love it. (It doesn't really take much to make me happy after all!)

Hey, I was going to the library tonight. It's getting kind of late. Better get to it.

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!