Having a Bad Hair Day and Just Don't Care

Monday, May. 16, 2005 10:53

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

I'm pretty happy these days. It makes me not want to write. Well, to be truthful, it makes me not feel the need to write in this public format. I am also quite selfish with my empathy these days. I don't want to spoil my happy by worrying about my friends' issues. Sorry. I suck, but that's the way it is. (I promise to feel really, really guilty about it later, though. Okay?)

The mini-crisis? Nothing to worry about. Just a series of financial blunders on my part that left us a little short in the end-meeting department. It has actually forced us to consider what we do for entertainment and we've managed to remember what it was that kept us busy when we were always dirt poor. It is nice. Nicer than financial security, although having both would be a plus. (So I guess money can't buy happiness, after all. Who knew?)

This weekend I got a job at a local craft chain. I figured it would help support my habit and get me a 15% discount. It's a store I've been shopping at for years, so even a minimum of hours will be a plus. The husband offered to get a part time job, but he works harder than I do at his day job and I sure don't want to be the one picking up the laundry/cooking/cleaning/yardwork slack while he's out bringing home extra bacon. No thank you. I'll "teach" him how to load the dishwasher and spend a few more hours a week stocking eyelets and sorting yarn. Not a problem. The real beauty, of course, is that if it does become a problem I can quit and not be any worse off than I am now. I start Wednesday evening and they seem pretty flexible about my needs to schedule around my summer activities. We'll see how it goes.

Speaking of the day job. Things have slowed down mercifully now that the new hires are picking up speed. It's nice to get the overtime but I don't like the way the stress of understaffing effects me. I'm finding I'm less likely to deal well with my co-workers' negative attitude these days. And I don't like myself much as "Cranky Girl".

We had a terrific weekend. We had pizza, watched movies, I got the job, I had coffee with CWF, we bought groceries, I cooked, we planted some flowers, I tended the roses, we planned more flowers, we had Chinese food, and we watched Tom the Fireman walk off with the million dollar prize (as I predicted before the series ever started). (And if those people were so stupid as to not vote him off when they had the chance, they deserve what they get.)

I should get to work now. Don't worry if you don't hear from me more often. Happiness and contentment can be pretty boring. : )

1 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!