No! She's Not Pregnant.

Thursday, Jul. 28, 2005 15:04

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Been frightfully busy these past days, what with planning the wedding! and all. Yes, the Big Boy is taking the plunge. The Girl's mother offered to pay for a wedding if they'd get hitched before they moved to AZ (Mesa, actually). All is well and good, but we didn't really have the money for this type of celebrating. We'll be plunging into debt, but trying to give them a good sendoff. Since we are cash poor and credit heavy, we're doing what we can.

The wedding is two weeks from Sunday and they're taking off the following Friday, so that doesn't leave a bunch of time. The chapel where they're getting married only had a 2PM slot and limits guests to 50, so there will be a small reception following the ceremony (at the X's house), but we wanted to toss a bash and give those not attending the wedding a chance to say goodbye. (And if they happen to bring a nice flat envelope addressed to the Happy Couple, more the better.) Unfortunately, with the kids' schedule, we have no choice but to do it the weekend before the wedding itself.

Tacky, I know, but necessary.

Especially since the SIL and Boy's favorite cousins will be out of town and unable to attend the hastily planned nuptuals. (BIL, who just left for FL yesterday morning, will be flying back up and staying with us - Yay.)

I spent the weekend making invitations. Some for our party and some for the wedding. The ones for our party were printed on some 8x11 paper I designed with rubber stamps and ink, then I deckle cut the edges to pretty them up. The wedding invitations are blue cards with "To Have And To Hold" stamped and embossed in silver on the left side and an intertwined heart punch in the lower right corner. I inserted the wording on some speckled cardstock, then punched slots in the top and tied a small piece of white ribbon to hold it all together. I'm getting good feedback on it and am thinking I might submit it to a couple of magazines. (And it wasn't all that difficult to make. I whipped through 30 in a couple of days.)

We also used my discount at job2 to purchase the flowers, which were all on sale. Practically free, they were. And, yes, I know silk flowers are kind of tacky, but she's fixing them up and what do you expect on a couple weeks' notice and no budget. (Because, even though her Mama offered to pay for the wedding, you'll notice whose pocket this is all coming out of, so far!) She's wearing her prom dress, which is long and white and pretty, already has shoes to match, and therefore just needed a veil to complete the ensemble. The chapel handles all the other decorating, the photographer, the video, everything.

Husband, as predicted, became more and more livid as the week went on. It came to a head last Saturday. (Why can't you men just talk to each other in the first place instead of doing that whole "pushing it down" thing and then the big blow up? ) It was a short lived argument but we came close to Boy storming out. That wouldn't have been good. I know what they're doing is not really well thought out, but who does when they're twenty? (I'm the only one really wigging because they're too young to get married. I say move, but live together because divorce is way more expensive than a plane ticket home.) In the end, we need to make it easy for them to say they've made a mistake - if they decide they have, anyway. Otherwise, they'll try to stick it out when they don't have to and end up making the situation worse.

I just figure if my mouth is full of food, I can't say anything stupid, right? Mmmmphfmmm.

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!