5th Times the Charm

Sunday, Aug. 21, 2005 11:20

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

The wedding went well, all things considered. I was a little irritated and claustorphobic (did I spell that correctly or did I just admit to a fear of Santas?) and did not enjoy not knowing what was going on. Seems they had pre-arranged for my parents to be counted as "grandparents" but neglected to tell me that they needed to be there for pictures, etc. a half hour early. There was much fussing while waiting for Nana to show up exactly when we told her to and my dad and stepmonster were not dressed for as formal an event as it turned out to be. (I can totally see how my well-meant suggestion that they not hang around for pictures because they "obviously" weren't expecting to be in them was taken the wrong way. On the other hand, perhaps my stepmonster should have considered wearing something besides a button down tee-shirt and slacks and my father might have considered a tie. But they looked right at home at the reception, so it all evened out. And I didn't want to talk to my Stepmonster anyway, so her not speaking to me, really fit into my plans.) (Or they could have taken a page from my mother and said, "I think I'm dressed just fine and I'll be staying for the pictures." Whatever works.)

The reception was nice. Classy, but not too fussy. I wish someone had thought to tell me to bring a change of clothing, since everyone changed to picnic type clothes as soon as we arrived. I didn't mind too much, though, as I had changed gears on what to wear and found a perfect black and white print georgette column shift that fit the bill for the day. I mingled appropriately and tried to avoid the Nana, who seemed glued to my side when she wasn't kissing up to the X. (One note: it was commented on by several people over this event how much X's current husband looks like her ex-husband. Hmmmm!)

Now the Big Boy's room is cleared out and they are officially off to Arizona. They'll be coming back sometime mid-week to finalize somethings, but the lion's share of their belongings has gone off with them and they're on their way. They should get there just in time to board their plane back home. : )

In other news: I turned 42.

Yes, it was that monumental. No big deal. I got a garden weasel and some CD's from the Husband and Boy. Gift cards and cash from the rest of my immediate family. (All dutifully spent on craft items that I no longer have time to use.) It doesn't much bother me to be a year older. I'm okay with my age as I don't feel or act like it. I am well-loved and do not go hungry or want for much. It's a good life.

On the other hand, I decided that this year I would like to make a difference to my health. I've managed to go a year without gaining any weight (of permanance) so I want to weigh less when I'm 43 than I do when I'm 42. Significantly less would be great, but I'll settle for moderately less. To facilitate this, I rejoined Weight Watchers. (They should give you some kind of "5th Time Free" discount or something. I think I'll suggest it.) I am approaching it both more seriously and more relaxed than I have in the past. I am following the program and pre-planning and mostly just dealing with the situation as is. This is what I have to do to make it work.

Speaking of work, I need to get to it. They've totally screwed up my schedule at Job 2 so I've had to work both weekend days this week. Not my favorite. Urgh!

3 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!