Trying to Do Better By My Readers - All Four Of Them

Monday, Nov. 07, 2005 08:13

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Dear Lord! I could not be more tired. My struggle to stay awake and catch the end of "Grey's Anatomy" was a dismal failure and I was not pleased to have the alarm beeping at me so early this morning. I'm going to have to rethink this whole "Scrap Camp" thing. I love the company and I get so much done, but between the sleeping arrangements, the many hours hunched over my work, and the horrible nutritional effects, I think it's hardly something I should be paying someone else to do. I'm lucky and I'm not one of the women sitting around the table in awe because they haven't had to cook a meal or take care of something for their kids all weekend. I have great support at home, so I don't need to go away to do something I want to do. The facilities aside, I do love the people (especially the two infants that were so sweet and amazingly quiet during the weekend!) and would miss them if I never went, but I think I might just go back to one day and leave it at that.

I guess, we'll see.


Can I tell you all how excited I am that there are finally some good movies out there to see? I've been so very, very disappointed in the fluff that passes for entertainment these days. (Did "Saw" really need a sequel?) I've been so happy to have attended some wonderful films lately. Of course, I ran right out to see "Good Night, And Good Luck" because who wouldn't want to see George Clooney all Black and White and handsome. With a cast like that, it couldn't be bad and I wasn't disappointed. Then I was able to catch a screening of "The Squid and The Whale", introduced by Jeff Daniels, himself who put his best into this role. (I recommend the movie, but was a bit squicked out by some of the graphic sexual (?) scenes. I wouldn't let that keep you from seeing it, though.) And then there was "Capote".

I have always been a huge fan of Philip Seymour Hoffman. He's been my favorite part of some really good (and some not so good) movies. I am hoping he will finally receive his Academy Award for this performance. I loved this movie so much! I love the era and am a sucker for period pieces anyway (see movies one and two above), but this one really sucked me in and took me there. I left the theatre and went straight to the book store and bought a copy of "In C0ld Bl00d". I had forgotten how much I loved Cap0te's writing style and having just seen the back story makes the book that much more interesting. I also loved the fact that the movie doesn't paint a very flattering picture of the type of human being Truman was. They show him as conflicted and flawed and battling his own guilt and rage and I loved that.

And this weekend..."RENT" ! I can't wait.


Well, I need to get back to work, now. I'm off at my day job tomorrow, but picking up some extra hours at job #2. My schedule for the month is all over the board, but I'll be glad for the little extra cash as it's (unfortunately) a credit card Christmas this year. CWF is coming over tomorrow, too, to work on our Christmas cards and I can't wait to spend another afternoon with my but glued to a chair and hunched over a project. ;)

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!