Feliz Navi-Dog

Thursday, Dec. 08, 2005 15:17

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

I am minutes away from embarking on a three-day weekend from both jobs. Three days of being able to sleep in until the lazy hour of say, 7am. I can barely contain my excitement. (Also, I've not been taking any of my medication this week, so I think my mood is a little less stable to start.) I'm taking tomorrow off to prepare for the Keeley Christmas Extravaganza. Not so extravagant this year, but hopefully more fun. I just have a feeling. (If you're reading this and have not received your invitation it's because A) You live too far away; B) I know you don't like big crowds of strangers and don't want to drive this far at night; or C) I didn't know your address or think about it until too late. Sorry.) This year, we're shaking things up again with a main course of Husband's famous chili instead of the usual (expensive) submarine sandwiches. Yeah, we're just crazy like that.

I have such a huge crush on my dog that I think it might be damaging to my son's self-esteem. I can't tell if he's more jealous of me - because the dog likes me better - or the dog, thinking I like her better. I don't really. Seriously! It's just that the Boy makes me feel old and the dog makes me feel like I'm 12 years old again. And I can't really help it if she likes me better than someone who is constantly turning her ears inside out so she'll look silly. She is truly such a good dog. She's just now getting to the point where she knows it's okay to play. She doesn't mess with anything while we're gone and is perfectly housetrained. If only I could get her to learn to sleep on my feet and keep them warm while I'm watching TV.

In all truth the only problem we've been having is her barking in the morning. Husband would put her out when he left and I would put her back in when I left about 20 minutes later. It got to the point where she would bark the entire time. Who could blame her? We've been asleep for 7 hours and she's been all alone, then we finally get up and stick her outside all alone again, only this time it's also damned cold! And she can see me walking by the windows so she knows I'm awake. Her barking isn't obnoxious (like, say, the neighbor's dogs) but she is right outside the window of our retired neighbor and that's not cool at 6:15 in the morning. So I've started walking her in the morning before I go to work.

In the cold.

In the dark.

But at least she doesn't bark.

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!