Dribs and Drabs

Tuesday, Jan. 03, 2006 15:12

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Back to work. My eyes are burning and my neck is aching. I haven't spent this much uninterrupted time in front of a CRT in weeks. I keep thinking of how wonderful it would be to be home in the nice quiet solitude and how much work I could be getting done there with no Boy or Husband to distract or consider. I love my boys, but there was just a little too much togetherness this holiday season. Too many dances of "I don't know, what do you want to do about it?". I would love just one day of having the house to myself and being fully concious while I do.

Yesterday, I managed to keep the one Resolution I'm sure of... I wrote three thank-you notes to friends for gifts. I have generous friends and apparently they come by it naturally as I also received a gift from one of their mothers. ( Nana would never think of buying a gift for one of my friends!) Anywho, I realized I always feel good about receiving a thank-you note and wouldn't it be a wonderful thing if I started writing them myself? Uh...yeah. (Of course I started after Christmas to make the task a little less daunting.)

One thing I did over break that was awesome...I finished a book! I haven't done that in I don't know how long. And I started another book through which I'm progressing nicely. (The first book was "In Cold Blood", which I bought on the way home from seeing "Capote". It's a great book. The current book is "A Million Little Pieces", which I've been wanting to read for some time now. I've heard people say they couldn't get through it because of the author's writing style - or lack thereof - but I'm really into it. I think the style conveys a sense of urgency and disconnection that is pertinent to the story. ) Between books I've received from friends and those I've bought with gift cards, I'd better get back in the habit of reading. Besides, TV is crap anymore and I just can't let my brain go all autopilot, can I ?

Another cool thing I did over the break was make my own address book. My nephew-in-law, who drew my name on the Husband's side, gave me a gift certificate to one of my favorite stores that sells book binding supplies and specialty papers. (If you're ever in the market for a $25 piece of paper, this is the place to get it!) I had some precut book board at home so I just bought the signatures/insides of the book in the large address format. I covered it in this wonderful purple and green paper that reminds me of the dress I wore to a friend's wedding (back when I was tiny waisted). I used to keep all my address information in my Franklin, but I think I'm going to sell the two I have on Ebay. It's just too annoying to have to lug something that big around. Instead, I picked up one of those little checkbook sized two-year calendars for my purse. I can actually write things down and carry them with me.

Omigod! Like you care!

Listening to the new Foo*Fighters CD which I got from the Husband for Christmas. It's a wonder this guy's head doesn't explode the way he's always screaming, but I like it a lot. There are two CD's. Disk one is all loud and screaming and disk two is more acoustic and sweet sounding. (Emphasis on the "sounding" as I'm sure if I examine the lyrics to "Razor" I won't find the song to be all that sweet.)

I must go now. Seems there's actually work here to do. Go figure.

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!