Do As I Say; Not As I Do

Wednesday, Jan. 04, 2006 10:50

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

As always, I am about five to ten years behind the hipsters and am just now discovering the Foo*Fighters. I will put them right up there with Green*Day on my list of bands that have been around so long they've peaked on are on their way down before I discover them. But, Hey!, I've known Neil Diamond was cool way before "Saving*Silverman" so THERE.


I think I'm going to start planning ways to make next year's Christmas a little more fun. First, it needs to involve more alcohol. Second, it needs to involve more people. Seriously, three adults and a video obsessed teenager do not a festive holiday make. I'll have to think about it. It's not like I can create more family out of thin air, but it seems that there's something to be done to make the day a little less depressing. (Ha! Remember when all I wanted for Christmas was to stay at home with my little nuclear family? Wonder when that changed.)


I'm feeling pretty good today. It's a guaranteed sign that I will not have a good weigh-in tonight. Over confidence, that's the real reason we all put on weight. Has nothing to do with the food, really. I'll not only retain the two pounds I gained last week but probably pack on some more. (On the other hand, how is that possible when I'm sitting here in tiny pants that are not the least bit uncomfortable?)

I'm getting back on track. Soup for lunch, pushing the fluids, skipping the S*Bux, and I actually walked the dog this morning (a ritual that I haven't participated in since I became ill - she was pretty happy about it to say the least). It's the way it goes when trying to drop over a hundred pounds. Two steps forward; three steps back. It's a process, not instant gratification, and it is the main reason why things like Gastric*Bypass surgery don't work for the majority of the people with problems. It's all about calories in vs. calories burned and there just isn't an easier way, folks.

In reading "A Million Little Pieces" I see the similarities between subtance addiction and food addiction. Actually, as I'm reading the author is using food as a substitute for his chemical dependancy. I wonder, sometimes, if that isn't what I'm doing. Trading Alcoholism in for Foodism. My family background says it might be.

Funny thing, we were watching TV on New Year's Eve and came across the original version of "Invasion of the Body Snatchers". It was hilarious because there was so much drinking throughout the movie. And it wasn't like they were saying, "Hey, let's have a beer!". It was, " Hey, there's a dead body on your pool table. We should probably figure out where it came from. Let's make some Martini's first, though." And, "Well, we're the only people in town who appear to be normal, so let's grill some steaks and drink some of this scotch." Afterwards they all get into the big steel bucket of a car and drive around town without seatbelts. It's really amazing.

I only appear to be judging. Really.


I think I'm going to combine an art project with my New Year's Resolutions. Here's my thought: I want to create a tag for each individual resolution, include the year, and loop them on a ring. Then subsequent years I can just keep adding to those resolutions and have a perpetual record year after year. I think it will help me focus on each goal and then also be something I'll want to keep out where I can see it, but not be something others will automatically recognize. Sound like a plan? We'll see how it turns out and if it turns out well, I'll post pictures and then maybe make one for you, too!


I am in an unreasonably good mood this morning. I have no idea why, other than I'm just very lucky to be me. My mother asked me a question over the holidays that left me a little perplexed. She asked me how one goes about making friends. She has friends - more than she probably realizes - but no one particularly close. I, on the other hand, am lucky enough to count dozens of people who care about me, call me friend, a handful of which I've known for what seems like...ever. I wish I could say I gave her the secret, but the truth is I don't know. I'm not always as good to my friends as I should be or even as I'd like to be. I suck at the whole communication thing - bad at email, hate talking on the telephone, babble on endlessly about myself when we finally do come face to face. I'm basically pretty selfish with my time. (I think I've become a better listener recently, though. I'm working on the email/mail response time.) What I told her is this: When someone asks you to do something, don't say, "No". Also, see people. Call and visit and communicate with people you love, even if it's only once a year. (I come by my Time Bandit statis naturally, I guess.)

Okay, this is just too depressing. I'm going to focus on work for a little bit and then get on those emails I was just talking about. TA!

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!