A TRULY HAPPY MEAL

Monday, Jan. 09, 2006 11:10

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

It's busy here today, but I just don't feel like working. Go figure.

Thanks to those friends who commented on my last post. If it seems like I was rambling, it's because I was trying to get the post in quickly so I could run out to my car and await my phone call.

Heh.

I went home and waited. I didn't change my work attire because I felt like being professionally dressed for the phone interview would help me present a more positive image. I didn't even go to the bathroom because I didn't want to have to take a call midstream. Around 4:30, my phone finally rang. It was CWF telling me that the guy wasn't going to call me after all. Once again they're dicking around, unsure as to whether or not there is a need for another employee. As they've been doing this for over a year, I decided to take the following stance: I've had phone interviews with three different people at this company and they have my resume. Nothing in my qualifications will change in the near future. If they want to offer me the job, they can call me and I'll consider it. Otherwise, let's stop playing games. I'm over it and I'm pretty happy where I am in my life right now. (For the record, CWF was pretty pissed about having gotten me all worked up.)

Could it be that a dog was all that was missing from my life to make it perfect? (Seriously, I'm kidding here!) I seem to feel better than I have about me in a long time and I haven't taken any of the Blue Happy Pills for over a week. I seem to be really able to focus on the present situation - whatever that may be - and talk myself down from a ledge. Who knew I could use positive self-talk ? Granted, it's not always perfect and I don't know if it's going to last (let's get through an entire month of feeling good and we'll see ) but I feel like the self-esteem I've been searching for has really started to develop. (Please, God, how do I pass this on to my teenager?)


I saw Brokeback Mountain yesterday. Nana and I drove half an hour to see it at the overpriced theatre with the comfortable seats. It was in too small of a theatre so we were all packed in pretty tightly. This leads to the above average amount of annoyance and distraction when people A) arrive late and expect to be able to sit in a good seat; and B) take out their cell phone and have a freakin' conversation during the movie. The Hell? We should have gone to the Art theatre where it's a better movie going experience, but right now the construction going on in that city makes parking a nightmare.

Oh, the movie... it was very good, for the most part. Any problems I had were with asthetics and had little to do with the acting. Jake Gyllenhall is once again wonderful. Totally believable in a difficult role. The cinematography was beautiful and at the same time stark and hard. The one thing I had a problem with was Ann Hathaway. I didn't think she was right for this role. I think they did a horrible job of trying to make her look like an aging career woman. (With one exception: There's a scene toward the end of the movie where you see here hands and her nail tips need a fill in and you can see the polish is smudged on one finger. For some reason that really struck me as true.) For the most part the Princess of Genovia is not forty and they didn't make her look like she was, but I have to give her credit for wanting to shake things up. It's definately a different role for her.

Was I horrified by the gay sex scenes? Not really. They made me uncomfortable, but I think they were supposed to. The characters were uncomfortable. And I'm not comfortable with any kind of graphic sex on the screen. Call me a prude but if I want to see that sort of thing I know where I can find it. I really didn't think it was necessary to have both of the female leads baring their breasts, especially since I don't think boobs have much to do with the story. Hollywood just seems determined to get a good tit-shot in wherever they can. One reason I don't like this type of scene is that I know when they bring it to television later on, it's just going to be one more thing they'll have to clip or blur or block. In either case, the scene could have been filmed in a way that would move the story along without my having left the theatre thinking Ann*Hathaway has a really nice set. (I have the same problem with colorization in films. Just chalk it up to me being a doofus.)

I've heard people say they're suprised there hasn't been more protest against the movie. After seeing it, I can't understand what there would be to protest (again, aside from the graphic sexual content). The film doesn't portray the characters behavior as normal and accepted. It's a damned difficult life in a time when even admitting such a thing to oneself seemed impossible. It certainly isn't "Birdcage". And in the end, aren't these two people being punished for their needs? Even if they're only punishing themselves?

I could go on for days. Good movie. Don't bring your kids. Leave your preconceptions at the door.


I made the best dinner last night. Simple, good food. I had planned on making meatloaf, but everyone had a late lunch and by the time I could stand to look at food long enough to cook it, there wasn't enough time. The Boy had been jonesing for Mashed Potatoes and, apparently, gravy. Odd, since he has hated gravy his entire life, but things change. We also had some fresh green beans becoming a little less fresh by the minute.

I sliced an onion as thin as possible and scattered the rings in the bottom of my larges frying pan. I took the ground chuck I had planned for the meatloaf and made four patties, a little fatter and fuller than I normally would for the grill. I placed them gently in the pan on top of the onions and let them cook slowly. I tossed a couple of beef boullion cubes into the center of the action. While that was cooking, I made the taters and beans. When the meat was cooked through, I moved the burgers to a paper towel covered plate to drain (taking some of the onion that had cooked into the burger = YUM!). I then threw a couple tablespoons of flour into the pan drippings and cooked it through, whisked in some chicken broth (I didn't have beef broth) until the gravy became a consistency I liked. A little black pepper and we had a meal that was simple, easy, and tasted better than some that I've gotten in restaurants.

Husband, of course, had other plans for dinner, but decide the left overs would make a wonderful dinner tonight. What did he do? Why he mixed them all together, of course, coming up with something resembling a Shepard's Pie sort of thing. I'm willing to bet he melts some cheese into it and finds some other way of adding more gravy before it's done.

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!