It's a Monday- Tuesday

Tuesday, Jan. 31, 2006 14:57

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Yesterday I had an appoint with a trainer at the gym to get some sort of "body composition profile" or something. I've done this before, with CTB, but figured it was free so I might as well have it done again. This time I was scheduled with a chick but she went home sick and I ended up with a nice young man who can only be termed as CTB2. Sigh. While I would have appreciated it much more if he had shown the courtesy to look at least a little surprised by my advanced age and/or weight, he was awfully nice and it was not the least awkward. In the end we found out I am quite strong but can neither breath nor bend in half. (For the record, it was not the 3 mph on the treadmill that did me in, it was the 5.0 incline.) It was also determined that I have the body of a 50-year-old. (Which would explain the Husband and I being so compatible, I guess. Ha. Ha.) Saturday, I get to go back and listen to him try to sell me stuff like heart monitor watches and personal training sessions.

Otherwise, the gym is proving to be a good thing. I was able to get on my beloved eliptical machine on Friday and actually overdid it a bit. ( I must have let myself get dehydrated, because I was in bed with a nasty headache and nausea for a good chunk of the evening.) I don't like doing it, but once I get there and am dressed, I don't hate it. There are a lot of things like this in my life. They are all things I need to do, and once I do them I'm glad I did, but just getting to it is something all together different. When I was young, I think my parents termed this as "lazy" behavior and I'll admit I've often used that phrase for some negative self-talk. But it's really the wrong term since I tend to give it my all when I finally get around to doing whatever it is that needs doing. It's more of an anxiety thing. A fear of failure perhaps? I don't know. Either way, I spend a lot of time talking myself into doing things that need doing, regardless of the enjoyment factor involved in the actual doing of said "thing".

(Ever get overwhelmed by the stupidity of your own words? I just did.)

I played hookie from work yesterday. As I often do while enjoying a day alone in the house, I took notice of my own tendancy toward ADD. At least the Boy comes by it naturally. Throughout the day I would start a task and then get distracted by another and sometimes another. Somewhere along the line I would notice task one had gone unfinished and then abandon another task to complete the first one in ernest. Considering how often I chastise the Husband for this very type of behavior, it's a wonder the Boy can ever complete anything. Poor gene pool I guess. (On my resume this type of behavior constitutes "multi-tasking".) My craft history will tell a similar story if I were to detail the many, many unfinished projects lying about. (I currently count two knitting projects and an altered book and a deco that need some working on...that's without even looking.)

One of the projects I did yesterday was to clean out/organize my closet. I managed to peel a few more "too big" clothes off the pile and into the charity mound. I also discovered, with some shock, that I own over twenty pairs of shoes. Of course this includes the five pair I purchased over the past week ( including the cute red kitten heels for $10 and the lovely brown tweed pumps for $5 and two pair of shoes just for the gym). But still, when did I become such a girl? I've always had a thing for handbags (picked up one of those this weekend for $10, too) but wearing a size 11 had previously made the shoe desire futile. Also, I have an adversion to paying over $30 for any pair of shoes and an equal adversion to vinyl. You see my dilemma.

Lord help me when I can start buying clothes like normal people!

Other than the weather, which was rainy and damp - more like March than January - the rest of the weekend was wonderful. Spent some time with friends and some with my nuclear family. Didn't accomplish all that I wanted two (I have three emails to compose) but I did feel like I got a lot of little things done yesterday - including attending my first water aerobics class in at least four years. My knees are telling me that's too long. Way too long.

And today the Academy Awards were announced! Whoo-Hoo! Phillip Seymour Hoffman. Remember, you heard it here first (like before he won the Golden Globe and the SAG awards). It's about time his talent was recognized. I do so love him in everything. (Except that "Love, Liza" movie. That was a dud. But he was still the best thing in it.)

Gotta go!

1 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!