For My Valentine

Wednesday, Feb. 15, 2006 08:58

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

We, the Hubband and I, are not what you might call overtly romantic. In the beginning, yes, we had our moments worthy of orchestral accompaniment, but these days not so much. It's not that we don't feel the love; it's just that we also feel the pressure of time passing. The list of what needs to be done is often quite lengthy and others often get the time that we would otherwise spend on one another. We're a busy family. We've tended to let these types of holidays slip by with a minimum of fuss. As a matter of fact, we refuse to acknowledge Sweetest Day at all. That's why, on Valentine's Day, we usually just exchange some sort of funny/silly/romantic card and be done with it. (I don't even make my husband's cards because if I got started trying to write how I feel the gushing might never end.)

This year, he teasingly asked for either fabric softener or a box of his favorite scout cookies, which I had conveniently already ordered and were delivered in time to wrap up, so he got a little present to. Then the planets aligned to a point where he was not overwhelmed or overfull and we could go out to dinner.

Since Boy did not want to go and it was still early for dinner, we went to the restaurant we always consider "our place"; the very spot we went to fifteen years earlier when we'd gotten engaged and I had to show off my ring! I talked about work and he watched ESPN on the big screen behind my head and we exchanged stories of Boy conversations. It was nice, although I wasn't sure if it was the company or the Black and Blue Burger that was making me feel giddy. I was able to ignore the ocular migraine that had been bothering for the last hour and r-e-l-a-x.

We went home. We retreated to our separate corners and went about our business, occasionally seeking out one another to gain audience for our thoughts, but most of the time just talking to ourselves, the Boy and sometimes the Dog. I think a lot of times what we're really doing is waiting for the time to pass so we can meet up in the bedroom and sink into our less that 100% comfortable bed and say, "Good Night. I love you!" Not just because we're tired and ready for sleep (because that's not always the case, take last night for instance, which I'll refer to as "Night of the Leg Twitch") but because this is why we got married in the first place.

The fact that he will let me rob his body heat to warm my frigid feet is just another bonus.

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!