When the Voices Won't Shut Up

Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006 14:44

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Today is one of �those� days as far as the job goes. It started with a knee-jerk process change that my boss was unwilling to discuss. I hate that. It�s not like I�m stomping my foot and saying, �I�m not gonna doit!� (although I�ve been known to do that a time or two), but I was trying to raise legitimate concerns and was being Shut. Down. I guess we all have those moments when our desire to be right overpowers our better judgment. This one happens to have had me emailing explanations back and forth to the Great White North and having to resist my own urge to say, �Look, just hold your horses for a minute until someone up this food chain realizes that this isn�t going to work and all will be well.� That actually happened in the time it took me to calm the bugger down.

Also, today is weigh-in day. This shouldn�t bother me at all as I have been so on top of my food this week � I could probably even count the whole Step-Brother�s Dessert debacle- but the whole idea just bugs me. Even though I know my clothes are once again fitting right. Even though I know I�ve been doing what I need to do. With the exception of a little pre-princess water weight gain, I can�t see there being a problem. And still�

We�ve been talking in WW about the Addictive Voice. She and I are good friends. She tells me when it�s okay to have just one more cookie or piece of pizza or [your vice here]. She calls to me after I�ve had dinner and a snack and lets me know that if I went to the cupboard, I just might find something else to eat. Maybe even something chocolate. She tells me it�s okay to skip breakfast and not pack my lunch because I can stop at that place with the arches or my favorite bagel-meister and get something on the way and it�s a nice day to go out for lunch. Yes, having grown up in the family I did, I am very close to AV. She and I go way back.

The good news is that there were several times this week � two I remember specifically � where I was able to stop AV dead in her tracks. The conversations went something like this:

AV: Hey, that was a good meal. You know what would be good? Topping it off with something sweet!
ME: I�m actually pretty full right now.
AV: Come on, what�s one Little Debbie snack going to hurt.
ME: I�ve been doing really well and I don�t want to mess that up.
AV: Okay, no chocolate. How about popcorn?
ME: No.
AV: A popsicle?
ME: No.
AV: Cheese?
ME: NO! NO! NO!

Yup. There are two voices in my head most days. Full on conversations like this often take place. I wonder how long it will be until I end up like Husband and start having them out loud?


I�m so looking forward to July and the days off work. They�re still discussing whether it will be one week or two, but the boss has offered up a win-win Plan B and at the very least I will be off for 7 of the first two work weeks of the month. That�s going to be like heaven. Boy and I can go to the Wave Pool and to the beach and paint the bedrooms and switch out the light fixtures that I�ve been wanting to switch out for the last three years. And if none of that gets done? Oh, well. Maybe I�ll just spend the time finding out what it�s like to sleep past 6am.

And not to beat a dead horse or anything, but will someone please tell my son to stop growing? Seriously, he answers the phone and sounds like Sam Elliott doing a beef commercial. Cut that shit out! He now has the largest hands and feet in the house. I never would have imagined how much his growing up would effect me. It�s so bittersweet. I keep thinking of all the things he doesn�t know how to do and it seems I have so little time left to teach him. It�s might already be too late with that �teenage� wall that gets built, but I feel like he�s not there yet. He�s still not so much of a man that he can go to bed without kissing his Mom goodnight.

Thank you, God.

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!