Take A Hike

Wednesday, Jun. 28, 2006 14:47

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Saturday I took the Baby Girl Dog to the Bark Park. I quickly grew tired of exploring the small area and decided after awhile to venture out into the other areas of the park. We ended up doing between two and three miles on Saturday, which I think was a little much for the princess. She's not good at hydrating herself, since she doesn't like to eat/drink while people are looking. I, however enjoyed it so much I went back on Sunday for another 4 mile jaunt!


This is Jasmine. She must be stalking a chipmunk. She almost hurt herself a couple of times chasing after them. Sneaky as they are, they go through the fencing and my not too bright dog goes right after them - once getting her head caught!


There is a part on the map where one can choose the longer path or the short cut. This is the shortcut. Looks harmless enough, right?


Until you realize it's a very steady upward climb to this spot. Which is beautiful and I'm glad I did it but, whew!


And this is the way back down. See where it drops off there? I need new shoes if I'm going to make a habit of this.

I was horribly sweaty and forgot bug spray - not a good combination when entering the forest at dusk - but I really enjoyed it. I think I might like to make this a regular thing. I was pretty impressed by my recovery time after the hike up the hill and there's a pretty rewarding lake view toward the end. Many beautiful wildflowers and butterflies and dragonflies. (One dragonfly was an amazing irridescent copper! So pretty!) Lots of rustling in the leaves but no sightings of any varmits bigger than a bunny.

I wish I had someone to hike with me. Husband has bad feet and Boy is not at all interested. My friends aren't much for walking and Nana's not good on trails, what with the one leg shorter than the other and all. Oh, well. If I had a partner, I'd probably wish I were going alone.


4 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!