Over Aged Drinking

Monday, Jul. 10, 2006 13:25

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

I'm telling you now, there's nothing like a rowdy rock 'n' roll concert to make a person feel young again. Sammy was awesome. I danced my fool head off while Husband met our other friends in the VIP lounge. He kept coming back with paper towels for me to wipe my sweaty banging head. I have not been to a concert of this size in a long time and had forgotten how much energy a large crowd like that can have. Unfortunately, when the tequila tent opens at 3pm and the show doesn't start until 8pm, there are more than a few really messed up fans. Luckily, we got there just in time to have dinner on the shady terrace and then push our way to our seats - which were great!

I don't know how those guys could perform on such a small stage area, but they really rocked it out. They have risers in the back half of the stage where they squeeze about 50 fans in for the whole show. Wild. The first half of the show is all Sammy, singing every song I loved and skipping the mellow ballad type stuff. If the concert were over right then, I would have felt entertained. But there was a break and then the second half of the show opened up with Michael Anthony (Van Halen bassist) alone on stage making his bass do weird and wonderful things. Segue into the thumping opening to "Runnin' with the Devil" and Sammy joins him onstage to do the signature screams. I swear I was fifteen again at that moment. Husband joined me again for this part of the show and we stayed until they played "Right Now", his favorite, and got home at a decent time. I must have been exhausted, though, because I overslept my alarm and Husband had to gently pry me out of the bed in time to get to work.

Yesterday's dinner with our friends was fun. Unfortunately, I decided before they got here that I would enjoy some wine. Then they brought wine, too. Then we finished their two bottles and two of our bottles and I think there was a fifth bottle that I mostly drank myself. Husband cleaned up the dinner mess and I insisted that we bombard the neighbors who were enjoying the privacy of their deck. We brought the dog over to play with their sweet, fat, lab and I don't think I embarassed myself. But I don't remember coming home, either. I woke up on the sofa to a 2am thunderstorm. I took some pain relievers and drank some water. Back to sleep until 6am. More water. Dozing through "Angel" and "Buffy" until Husband started the day about 8am.

I swear, I do this about once every year or two. I somehow must remind myself why I don't drink. Almost always it's around these particular friends, too. I let them intimidate me and make me nervous. Not him, he's a doll. But the wife is not the warmest and I somehow always feel like I'm beneath her. It's stupid and I have to get over it. Everyone does not have to be my best friend! I'm luckier than most in that area and I need to stop needing that warm fuzzy feeling from the rest of the world.

Anyway, today is not going as planned due to the nursing of the hangover. (No headache, but a tender stomach and sore throat from the combination of smoking [yes, three cigarettes, another reason I shouldn't drink] and the snoring of a deep alchoholic coma. I'm drinking lots of water, still, and gently feeding myself while waiting for the call from the auto place to tell me my truck is ready. Husband will be home early and it's a beautiful day. There's always tomorrow for creativity.

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!