Staying Up Late With The Big Kids

Sunday, Sept. 03, 2006 18:25

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

It's been a beautiful weekend so far. There is definately Autumn about. The trees are starting to turn The furnace hasn't been on for days. There's a certain quiet to the mornings and evenings that wasn't quite there a week ago. I am glad for the change, as I need one, too.

As promised, my WW leader emailed me encouragement; although not quite as I had expected. She let me know that she's been seeing the backsliding in my posture, my dress, my demeanor and has been wondering what the problem was. Instead of asking me what the problem was, however, she slyly asked what I had been doing the previous six months to be so successful. (Just when I was going to give her a list of excuses, she goes and gets logical on me.)

I hate to say it, but it's been difficult to remember what I did that was so successful and what I did to start my fall from grace. It's not just the dog walking, because we didn't get her until Thanksgiving and I was already well on my way by then. And it isn't quitting the gym, because that didn't make a bit of difference in my actual weight. It's just the eating, simply, that has gotten out of hand. I stopped saying, "No!" and started saying,"Whatever". I stopped planning. I stopped caring.

It's the spoiled child in me that thinks it "deserves" things. What I've done to get that type of thinking, I'm not sure. (Ask me about what I've done to "deserve" fire and damnation and I can tell you that, though.) I have to learn that there are better things in life than food. I thought I was there once, and maybe that's my problem. But I don't know if I'm quite ready to give up the good stuff yet.

For the record, I took the pupper-doodle for a long walk. I didn't buy ice cream at the store (although I stalked it for about ten minutes) and made myself the deal I had previously: If I want ice cream I have to walk to go get it. It's a good two mile walk and we haven't been taking that long of walks lately, so I'm a little stiff and tired, but the dog is glued to my side in gratitude for time well spent.

Today we spent some family time together - just the three of us. We went out to lunch (devoid of any nutritional value whatsoever, but I'm working on it, gradually), then bought the Boy a couple more shirts and hit a few more stores before coming home.

I was noticing (for probably the hundredth time this summer) how handsome the Boy is. He's really coming into his own, just as his brother did about this age. I shouldn't tell him how pretty he is so much, but I never thought I was and I want him to know that he is. He said today that "some girl on the bus" told him he has pretty eyes. He said it without blushing like it was no big deal at all. I'm glad he's not obsessed with his looks - either way. I think there will be a lot of girls telling him that in the next few years.

I need to go make dinner now. I have an actual day off tomorrow, so I don't have to worry about not sleeping well tonight. I can stay up late if I want. And I can sleep in tomorrow, although that's unlikely. My alarm rarely wakes me these days.

There's nothing concrete on the agenda tomorrow. We've talked of seeing an early movie as a family, but there seems to be indecision and that's a lot of money to spend when one or more of us don't really care. Husband wants to do yard work and I have some craft projects cluttering up the space that really need to be finished.

We'll see how it goes. Have a good weekend.

1 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!