Tales From The Salt Mines

Sunday, Sept. 24, 2006 17:44

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

When you're bored out of your mind at work you start wishing for an opportunity for a few hours of OT and remembering the good old days when there was plenty of work to go around. In the "be careful what you wish for" category, there is now plenty of work to go around. In addition to our one person getting fired, we have another person quitting and a third person tied up in training. That leaves three of us to do the work of an 8-person team, and wouldn't you know things would be kicking up right about now. So, I've been putting in an extra hour or so every day and working harder than I have since I started to boot. I have to say, it's getting to me. My back hurts and I'm not getting enough sleep and my eating habits have taken a turn for the "instant gratification". It's just bad...

...and now I'm sick.

I don't know if this is my annual sinus infection from turning the furnace on - we had have it running one night last week - or if it's a cold from the couple we had over for dinner last week (who were both sick) or the girl at work (who is walking around with a Kleenex box) or allgeries from walking the dog in the woods Thursday night or from my friends who are sick (can germs travel over the internet?). I guess we'll see. If it goes away in a couple of days, it's a cold. If not, it's a sinus infection which will require a visit to the doctor.

I'm most depressed about the food. I can't seem to get a handle on the weight thing. What once seemed easy, now seems like a lot of trouble. Or a lot of denial. It makes it all that much more difficult when I'm sick. The planning - and that's really what losing weight is all about for me, I think - takes too much time and effort. Exercise is out of the question when I'm this sick, too. Just can't breath and taking a shower or getting dressed works up a sweat.

Having given away all my winter coats from last year, I broke down and bought myself a brown suede jacket from Macy's. It might get me through until November. It's pretty and fits me well. It was 30% off and then another 15% off that. I couldn't pass it up.

Have to go now. I need to cook up the Husband's potatoes he's taking for his breakfast thing tomorrow before I take my sleeping pill and nod off for the night. Here's hoping the crud in my head and chest packs it's wee bags and moves on to someone else.

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!