If I lined up all of my guilts, how far would they reach?

Saturday, Oct. 14, 2006 15:50

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

I'm sitting in at my day-job desk in my weekend-job clothes. So very far behind, plus I wanted to make up for some of the time I spent vacationing. My mailbox is clean and things should be a little less dicey now. I didn't want to still be in a mess while the Boss is gone on vacation next week.

Big Boy and DIL came over last night. They're in town for the week. It was a great visit. What a difference a year makes! We went to dinner for DIL's birthday and talked the night away. DIL and I even spent significant time alone having "girl talk" while the men (all three of them) went through some stuff in the garage attic. It was very nice. Then DIL sent Big Boy over to her house to get their dogs - Malteses, one less than a year old (I think) and one six-weeks old that they had just purchased. The little one was a love. So cute. Boy adored them and placed the little one on my shoulder where she promptly fell asleep while we talked even MORE. And Boy has learned the art of the hug. And he's more fun to hug because he's all big, burly, contractor man. DIL turned 21 on Wednesday (I thought she was younger) so is tasting her way through the alcoholic spectrum, but she seemed more relaxed even before the whiskey/rum combo hit her. (I know she's a youngster but I so wouldn't want to have her head this morning.)

I'm loving the feeling that all is right with us again and that it was probably more me than them that had the problem. I'm also loving their pledge that children are way down the line and would include a move back to snow land so we could babysit often. (I'm thinking both of these things are just youth talking, but I did let her know she's got plenty of time yet.) More seriously, they're discussing plans to move East - maybe Carolinas? - once BB has more experience and can get his electrician's license. The pay is better, they say.

I know BB was exhausted, all this running around and multiple families tugging at him for visits. Poor thing. He'll get used to it, eventually. DIL is already talking about coming back for the Nieces' shower or for the holidays. That would be nice. Hectic, but nice. Anyway, we got some ideas for Christmas and gave BB an early, early birthday gift of my laptop that we haven't been using for years. His just wore out, I guess and they had been sharing, but it's difficult with both of them in school.

And now I have to go home, even though I would love to take more time updating and answering emails and shopping online. I'm tired and perhaps there's time to nap before we head off to a party downriver.

Hmmm...

(Oh, the guilt? Over feelings and neglected friends and my Dad going in for knee replacement surgery and money and food and work and...and...and...)

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!