Dookie Doggie

Friday, Nov. 24, 2006 09:34

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

For some unknown reason, I slept until 8:30 this morning. Yes, I was awake 5:15. Awake enough to look at the clock and snicker at the idea that my body clock is tuned to the work week. I was awake enough at 6:20 to say goodbye to the Husband and tell him to leave the hall light on, thinking it would keep me from doing much more than dozing. I was awake enough at 7:10 to think about turning on "Buffy", just to see if this is the episode where Willow and Oz finally get together. And then it was 8:30 and I was feeling like an incredibly lazy bum.

We'll ignore the fact that I'm still in my pajamas and haven't yet brushed my teeth.

Speaking of smelly, my dog is laying on the other side of the room looking at me forlornly. She feels this way because I have not made an attempt to pet her in about 12 hour. Not since I discovered she had rolled in something either dead, fecal, or toxic. The Husband tried to clean her up last night, simultaneously giving me the look that says, "You HAD to have a dog!", but she's really still quite rank. I'm going to have to give her another good whipe down before we even think about things like walks or taking her on a long car ride to visit her friend Max-Dog. I wonder does Febreeze work on dogs?

It was interesting walking her last night, though. The houses in our neighborhood were either lit like a homing signal or completely dark. Occasionally, there would be the house with a single lamp and the blue glow of the television, signaling either an early or an empty holiday, but for the most part the joints were jumpin'. Many of our neighbors have used the beautiful weather to put up their holiday lights and the traffic was calm. There's a house at the end of our street that has been for sale almost since we moved in and it finally sold a few weeks ago. Last night they literally had every window ablaze with light and cars lined up along the street. (I'm glad someone bought the house, because I always thought it was pretty.)

The dinner turned out well, yesterday. It got a little dicey as we were getting ready to move to the table. For some reason I let things get out of hand and let other people dictate when things were done. As it turned out, the green beans - the thing I made especially for Husband - were not very well done. But I ate a bunch anyway. The carrots (roasted with onions) were awesome and the Boy has decided that cooked carrots are not gross anymore, but one of his favorite foods. I was particularly pleased with the acorn squash, which was both easy and tasty. I cut them in half, oiled the outsides, scooped out the seeds and sprinkled them with pumpkin pie spice, then flipped them over onto a pan with a little bit of water and cooked them at 350 degrees for about an hour. They came out wonderfully steamed to the point they almost couldn't keep their shape. We had a lot of leftovers, but we sent home care packages and at least we'll be eating well for the next few days.

The Boy has just left to go walk the dog and then he is going out to douse the flame of his allowance in his pocket. I think I'll take this opportunity to make the bed, brush my teeth, take a shower and start my day. Minimal shopping for me today. I'm going to get the Big Boy a Cold*stone*Creamery gift card for his birthday and maybe peruse this cute little store near there that has some unusual decorations. Maybe get myself a tea at Starbux and enjoy this beautiful day.

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!