I'll Take My Tomatoes Crushed, Thank You.

Saturday, Nov. 25, 2006 18:35

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Last night's festivities were so fun. I ate too much, of course, but the food...mmmmmm...the food. The beautiful weather brought out too many to the parade this year. It was difficult to see and we couldn't handle the dog well. There were too many other dogs/people/smells to contend with. We've decided that next year she'll probably stay at home where she won't be underfoot all night and hogging attention from poor Max-Dog. (She can save her visits for Barbeques!)

Poor thing, the dog really hasn't been herself today. Too many holiday goodies over the last day or two. She has such a sensitive stomach. Then Nana said this morning that the hams were being recalled due to some bacteria that will kill us all. She seemed stunned that she was the only one throwing away her leftovers. (We've been eating it for two days and not feeling any worse for the wear.)

Today we went to see "Bobby". It was good, I guess. I think there were a couple of parts that could have been eliminated to make the thing a lot shorter. I like period pieces, though, and this one seemed to do okay. (The set decoration/props were especially good.) There was only one piece that made me raise an eyebrow, where Demi Moore (who looks like a brunette Tippi Hedron) talks about the shelf life of a Twinkie. Was "shelf life" a commonly used phrase in '68? I thought Lindsey Lohan turned in another bright performance. Whatever idiocy goes round in her social life, I think the girl has the chops. And Freddie Rodriguez was marvelous. I'm glad he's so out there right now. And Nick Cannon was impressive as well. (If you don't have teenage children, you might never have heard of him, but he turns in a pretty nice performance.) Anyway, there's lots of performances to choose from and some I'd like to have eliminated, but all in all, I was entertained.

In that same vein, it makes me want to learn more about the Kennedy's and their politics - in depth, not just on the surface. Before we left last night, Husband started talking politics with our friend's family - something I might normally find scary, but these folks can hold their own - which lead to an interesting conversation on the way home. Boy is starting to wonder and ask questions about God which led to conversations about whether or not the Bible is historically accurate or not which led to conversations about whether history itself is historically accurate or not. I mentioned, lately, that with the internet and cable and cell phones with cameras, we'll never have another politician that is adored and revered like the Kennedys were because no one will ever be allowed to hide their mistakes again. But then, again, not everyone adored them, did they?

I'm eating some yummy soup. The recipe came from a chef who visited our WW group a couple meetings ago. It's a vegetable based bean soup with Cannellini Beans, celery, onion, garlic and a smidge of bacon. I threw in the leftover roasted carrots just for grins. The only thing I didn't like was that the recipe calls for a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes and I don't really like tomatoes. I only put half as much in and I still find them yucky. I think next time I make it, I'll used crushed tomatoes instead.

I cannot believe it's only Saturday. It feels so much like a Sunday. I'm not used to having that kind of time off. This is day three of no work and all play. Whoo. Tomorrow will be about decorations and craft projects and tea with CWF and, if the weather is still nice, a visit to the Dog Park.

For now, I'm off to watch a movie with the family. Hope I can stay awake.

1 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!