Pinching

Tuesday, Feb. 21, 2006 19:49

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

I've just spent the last hour or so going over the finances, coming up with a new grand total for our debt after I paid bills with tax return. Not the most fun ever. We've (I've) let ourselves get over our heads here and it will take months to dig ourselves out to a point where I feel comfortable.

Stupid. Stupid. Stupid.

But the good news is we have retirement savings, money set aside for the Boy, and wonderful health insurance. I've been comparing home values in our neighborhood and was surprised to find ours is the most "valuable", which would comforting if the housing market and our neighborhood weren't such a pit.

We're in good shape. Not in good enough shape that I can quit job number two - and, man, would I like to after standing around in sub-zero temps last weekend waiting to get into the building so I could work in the office where there's no heat - but doing better than so many people I know.

It's just a matter of getting a grip on the way we spend the money.

More on this tomorrow. Possibly.

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!