"It's a Sunshine Day"

Saturday, Jun. 01, 2002 11:56

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Mmmmmm. Another beautiful summer weekend spread out before us and not a thing we have to do.

Of course Hubband has his "list" of natty little things he "needs" to do, but that's his thing. Me? I'm all about the chillin' this weekend.

Last night I spent a couple of hours on the deck enjoying the brown rice salad, Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and my covered swing. Nana arrived home from work looking a little worse for wear and I invited her over to enjoy the evening and share a bottle of wine with me.

Splendid.

Big Boy spent the night. He said something that made me feel good. When we were at his mom's the other weekend, she had mentioned how he never sleeps. "He's always burning the midnight oil."

Well, at our house, more often than not, he's asleep on the sofa by 10pm and we have to jostle him in the morning.

He said that was true, but mostly because she's always wanting him to "do" something. That they never just sit around and talk like we do. It's always about what she wants him to do for her next.

I realize that this is the perspective of a child and he may be exaggerating just a tad. But I also know his mother. I've known her for as long as I've known Hubband. She's pretty needy.

It makes me feel good that Big Boy knows there are people who love him for who he is. It makes me feel like we're doing something right, I guess.

This morning we got up early (sorta) and went out to the Nesting Grounds in hopes of seeing the Purple Martins. I did finally glimpse one high atop a tree, but mostly I think they were scared off by the huge amounts of incredibly noisy people on the trails. (Not to mention the guy with the unleashed Labrador bounding through the woods at breakneck speed.)

It was fun to go out and catch the babies of the herons and egrets and to see how much they've grown. The owls had left the nest already, but we did get to watch a racoon fishing and some painted turtles sunning themselves.

Then we went for a Slurpee, cause there's only so much nature a person can take.

And this afternoon? I just don't know. I have the urge to get in the car and drive with no great destination in mind. On the other hand I have the urge to take my book back out onto the deck and swing away the afternoon.

The dilemma's of the modern housewife are sometimes just too great.

Somehow I think I'll manage. :)

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!