Week End End

Sunday, Jun. 06, 2004 20:23

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

It's been an up and down weekend for me. I had been looking forward to a weekend with nothing planned. I figured it would give me plenty of time to get some of the things done that I've been putting off in favor of more "fun" passtimes. Hubband had other ideas, however. He and the boy ended up dragging me off to run errands and have lunch. (Right in the middle of a movie I had been watching.) He was right, I needed to get out and about rather than be a vegetable in front of the TV, but it had been a fairly long time since I'd had that particular opportunity and I was a little put out. Then I was depressed because one of my favorite restaurants had closed, meaning we had to come up with an alternative lunch plan (as well as view another vacant building in the neighborhood).

It got better, though. I enjoyed my lunch. We went to visit Grandma, whom we hadn't seen in weeks. We shopped, I got an iced coffee. We got things done and made quality family time out of it, to boot. Then I dropped Hubband at home to go shopping at T@rget, which cheered me up considerably, and came home to find the Big Boy had cleaned the gutters while I was gone. (How long had I been away?) He was still here when I returned and I was happy to hear that he and his mother were over their most recent spat. We watched Birdsong blow Smarty Jones out of the water. I made Philly Cheese Steaks for dinner and we watched "The Triplets of Belleville" (one very bizarre movie).

Then it was just Hubband and I to watch "Sweet Dreams", the Patsy Cline story. This is one of my very favorite movies and I should have known better than try to get Hubband to love it. Not that he didn't appreciate it - he did like it - he just doesn't let a movie absorb him the way that I do, and his constant onslaught of questions really bothered me.

There were some other, more personal things that I let (helped) escalate into more of an argument than I intended. I ended up in quiet tears with him apologizing for things he didn't even understand. I felt bad. He felt bad. We didn't go to bed angry, but we went to bed cautious.

This morning he was all tiptoes around me, letting me lay in bed until noon and not pushing me at all. I gave myself a manicure and pedicure and plucked my eyebrows. I watched some two hour documentary on the "Sopranos". I watched a couple of home improvement shows. Then I put the beans to bake and made arrangements to have Nana come over for a cookout, because I knew he would want company after such a quiet morning. I ran off to the store to get some burgers and dogs, but stopped on the way to upgrade my puny cellphone to a peppy little flip phone. (And another iced coffee. Habit much?)

Happily, I've spent the last few hours out on the deck chatting with my loved ones and watching the bird life. I wished there were more hours in this day, but couldn't force myself inside on such a gorgeous evening.

Now I'm burning some disks for some people and wishing that I didn't have two social events that I want to enjoy tomorrow evening and even wishing more that this was a long weekend. But it's a short week coming up because we're moving the office at the end of the week. (This means a 45 minute reduction in my daily commute!!!)

Busy week coming up. Last week of school. New doors installed on Tuesday. Painter coming for an estimate on Wednesday. The office move. Prepping for the Canada visit next week. Um...that time is coming, too. Great. Fun.

I'm off to finish burning and eat some ice cream. You all enjoy yourselves, y'hear!

1 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!