The Big Boy Lands

Saturday, Oct. 16, 2004 10:33

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

The Big Boy is now a resident of Chez Caribou. How long this will last is up for grabs, but for right now it seems to be working out well. It is both annoying and comforting. Annoying only in that it is amazing how the addition of a single adult to a household can put an immediate strain on the budget. (This weekend, in addition to more groceries than we usually buy, I will need to buy more towels, a bathrobe, and some more storage containers.) But it is very satisfying to know that he wants to be here and that he understands that being here means he is part of the family, not a boarder.

He and Hubband emailed back and forth yesterday. They are men. They prefer to discourse in written form. Aside from BB's horrible spelling (who am I to talk?) it was very touching. He said he wanted to try living with us because it was very "relaxing" here. Considering the fact that he's usually working on some project whenever he's here, that's a pretty nice thing to say. He also stated that The Girl really likes it here, which made me wonder why she hasn't been around in about 9 months, but whatever.

The Little Boy (I guess we'll go back to that moniker) is beside himself with joy. "It's just like old times!" " We'll be just like real brothers!" He even offered to move his video games down to his brother's room. I'm glad that they will get to spend this time together - however long it might be - because I want them to be close later in life.

BB and The Girl will also be at the annual Christmas Name Drawing/Niece's Birthday dinner next weekend. My SIL must be just over the moon at the thought of having her favorite nephew at the table.

The X is seeking counseling and want's BB to join her later. This is good. It is necessary. As Hubband told his boy, there's no way you can be happy in life if you hate your mother. He needs to get to the core of what is going on there and why it's gotten to this point.

In more boring news, we're having our neighbor and Nana over for pizza tonight. This would make the 3rd or fourth time I've had pizza this week. I seem to be existing on a diet of pizza and Taco Hell, of late. We're putting an end to this, however, by going through the recipes to find meals we can eat as a family. (Or at least cook enough to feed the family as they drag in.)

I should get dressed now. And eat something. And buy some more appropriate sleepwear.

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!