No Pumpkin Pie

Friday, Nov. 26, 2004 12:38

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Working Thanksgiving has not been the exciting alternative to a turkey dinner that I�d imagined. I had envisioned a day that flew by while I spent idle hours perusing the internet and sorting out the details of my life. No such luck, I�m afraid. The customers from the Great White North have been throwing everything at me but the kitchen sink and I�m forced to actually put in a (mostly) full day�s work. The Nerve! Couple the working with the 2 inches of ice and snow we received, then marry that again with the fact that we had Thanksgiving �Dinner� in a bar last night�I don�t think I need to go on. (I had a burrito, by the way. And cheese sticks.) The Lions lost in yet another pitiful display of leadership by our quarterback. It was just not the best day. It felt wrong all the way around, no matter how many different types of food I tried to stuff into my mouth to elevate my mood.

Today it is more of the same, so far. I�m eating the last of the lunch I brought yesterday and listening to the only radio station I can get in that plays the new U2 song every hour. There�s another person here today, which is different. I haven�t seen them in the flesh, but I�ve seen their print jobs and the motion sensitive lights are on in various rooms that I haven�t been in. I tried to do some shopping before work, but the parking lot was way, way too crowded for me to make a quick in-and-out visit. It will cost me about $15 more to get the same items after work, and I guess I�m okay with that. I did not need to deal with the maddening crowd just then. After work will do just fine. (I�m getting new gloves for both the Hubband and myself, if you must know.)

Grandma is adjusting to life in the nursing home. By that, I mean she is becoming more and more like a patient in a nursing home and less and less like the feisty woman we put in there. Since they put her in the wrong dining room the first day (for observation), she refuses to eat anywhere but her room. When she is not working on her physical therapy (where last week they made a cheesecake, something she would never actually do), she is slouched in her wheelchair watching the roommate�s TV. She seems to do nothing but wait for people to bring her things and do things for her, which is counter-productive to going home. But I will not argue with her. It�s her life and no matter how silly she may be, she is not insane. (She cracks me up when she refers to the other patients as �quite elderly�, as if 85 is nothing close to that.)

The visits are adding another �to do� to my already jammed schedule. I was trying last night to make plans to see a friend, and it seemed impossible. I have not gotten as much of my shopping done as I would like. My cards are not done. I don�t have the menu settled for the Open House, let alone starting to cook and bake all the goodies! I have gifts to buy and food to make for my various �groups�. I have laundry and painting and art projects and decorating and hand holding to do. I have a box of books that just came in the mail for me. (What was I thinking?) What I don�t have is motivation. Not. One. Bit. Pray for me to get both coats of paint on the walls and ceiling in one day so Sunday can be my day of catching up!


2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!