The Return Of Caribou!

Friday, Nov. 04, 2005 09:37

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Where have I been? Outside myself, perhaps. Certainly not feeling the need to spill my self-made drama here, I guess. But I apologize, because I seem to have broken my own 30-day rule. (In my head I am talking to you all constantly - especially you, and you, and you - so I may have thought I posted when I actually hadn't.) Part of my break was due to a chilling fear I felt when I found out the Husband had discovered a friend's journal. If he discovered his, then it is only a skip and a jump until he discovers mine. Not that I've ever refused him access. We just had this discussion long ago and he said he was okay with allowing me this private outlet. Also, if he did read my ramblings, I doubt he would come upon anything surprising. But still...

Things are tense at home these days. I think it's mostly me but then I think it's almost all him. (If you were to ask him, I'm sure he'd chalk it up to hormones on my part and I wouldn't necessarily say that was totally incorrect. But I also wouldn't say he still isn't wrong.) It's a communication thing - lack thereof, actually. 1) We're constantly trying to interpret some secret hidden meeting behind what the other is saying, when the reality is there is no hidden meaning, and 2) He doesn't seem to hear me. Ever. And he thinks this is funny. Cute, maybe. Unfortunately, this all comes to a head over the Boy's science project, which we've been batting back and forth between us until it's almost too late to do anything. It's the kind of project we both hate and when either of us attempt to work on it, the other is always throwing in "helpful suggestions". (What? You're asking why the Boy doesn't just work on it himself and ask for help when he needs it? Shut up.) As I'm usually in charge of all things school, the Science Project From Hell fell under my "jurisdiction" and I was okay with that until we got past the project outline/rough draft/paper part and into the actual building of the thing. Then I figured Dad would take over - because he said he would! - and all would be good. But he didn't and I didn't and the kid just wants to get started but someone has to drive him to the Home Depot and could we please just get a move on?

A week passed and then Husband and I finally had it out and put together a plan. (The original plan of Husband committing violence against the teacher was scrapped.) The trip for supplies went well and the next day Boy and I started the project, Husband jumped in when I had to leave for the meeting and progress was made. Unfortunately, I decided I didn't want to participate anymore and the next day ended up in a big stew of he said/she said stupidity. The good news is, while I was upstairs rediscovering the advantages of waterproof mascara, the gentlemen were downstairs finishing what looked to be a successful project and they have both forgiven me.

But that was just this week...

I think I've also been having a temper tantrum regarding my "diet". At some point I just cracked and decided I couldn't eat another banana/salad/sugar-free pudding and I needed some beef. So we went out for Burgers. That's right, capital "B" burgers. And fries - the kind made from wedges. Then we had a food day and some idiot (my boss, I think) brought Asiago Cheese bagels and Sun-Dried Tomato cream cheese. (I had two - seriously!) Then I sampled all of the lovely foodstuff from our luncheon. Yum, Yum. I was so full I could barely move. Yet, for some reason, that night I stopped and bought a pizza for Husband and I to have for dinner. This started a frenzy of slacker eating that still hasn't been reigned. The good news, however, is that I still seem to be losing weight - ever so slowly. This means if I can get my crap back together, I should be able to look at this as a little "blip" instead of completely falling off the wagon and cracking my head on the way down.

In the "Let's Stop Whining" catagory, the weather is so perfect I could scream. The colors are brilliant and it has been warmer than normal. Thanks to the time change, I'm able to catch both sunrises and sunsets on a daily basis. It is my favorite time of year. I'm hoping to remember to bring fresh batteries for my camera as I head off to scrap camp this weekend. (I am so much the old lady that I have a special scrapbooking sweatshirt I plan to wear!) I'm skipping the massage this time, as it just wasn't worth it and that is so not the "spa" environment. I'll just scrap and chat with my friends and return home to what is hopefully a less intense environment.

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!