Early Independence

Monday, Jul. 03, 2006 21:53

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Thanks for all the great comments on the pictures! I don't do well with people, but sometimes I can get a good one of plants and flowers.

I am exhausted. I've spent all of my free time the last three days painting the Boy's room. It turned out well, and he seems to enjoy it now that it's done. (Although during the process he was unsure.) The top half of the room is "Creme Brulee" (beige), the bottom half "Utah Sky" (blue), and there's a ten inch wide stripe of "Chocolate Sprinkle" (brown) going all the way around the room. I painted the door frame and the molding brown as well. (I sweat it's the same color as chocolate syrup!) I'll post pictures if I get the chance before he messes it up too much. (Then you can see the cool valance I made out of placemats from Target!)

I am so sore and tired. I am not looking forward to entertaining fifteen people tomorrow. How did a simple birthday dinner turn into such a huge deal? A combination of tradition and expectations, I guess.

The good news is, I am on vacation! As soon as we're through tomorrow, I have no obligations to anyone other than myself until Saturday! I promised the Boy we could do something on Wednesday, which will probably end up with us at the beach or wave pool. Soooo looking forward to it. For a few minutes today, before Husband got home, I was just sitting on the floor with the dog enjoying the silence. (sigh.)

I don't know what is up with me this week. I was doing so well with the food and then just stopped. I haven't paid attention at all to what and/or when I've been eating. I went to the grocery both hungry and angry, with a migrane to boot and bought cookies which I can't seem to keep my mits out of. It's the lack of routine and the feeling of being rushed. Like so much is being asked of me. It's silly and selfish but as much as I like entertaining my friends, sometimes entertaining family is a bit of a chore.

Poor dog. Her routine has been turned upside down as well. She doesn't understand why I haven't been to work when the Man left at the same time. She was wonderful about not bothering me while I was painting, but I think she thinks it's some type of punishment for her. I spent a good long time massaging her this morning, hoping she would know that I love her and will soon get back to our long walks together.

The fireworks are blowing off over the lake. Can't see them for the trees, but I can sure hear them. Sounds like they're going off in the back yard. Neighbors and neighboring lakes have been shooting them off all weekend and some the previous weekend. Doesn't bother me much, just as long as they stop at a reasonable hour.

Time to go!

2 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!