BEEP BEEP BEEP

Wednesday, Oct. 16, 2002 01:01

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

This last week has been something. I never would have imagined how quickly I would succumb to the stress of full-time employment. Oh, but that's only the half of it. In order to bring you up to date, I need to backtrack a little.

Remember the pager? (The very reason I'm not in bed now, as a matter of fact.) Long, long, long story short: Bossman was carrying the pager that we used to get paid to rotate. Since we no longer got compensated for carrying it, he took it on as his responsibility. When he quite (9/23) he turned it into his buddy in HR because CWF refused to take it, even though she was taking over for him. Tuesday rolled around and CFO comes up in the middle of a meeting with the pager going off in his hand.

"This things been going off all day. You should probably take it and do something about it."

CWF says, "No", which starts an argument in front of subordinates (Tom and me). CFO huffs off and later calls CWF. At this point I've already told her I thought she was making a mistake and that the pager was indeed her responsibility, but she wouldn't back down. CFO then calls me to see if I will take it. I ended up going down to his office and trying to explain to him that some of us don't want to spend every minute working, but he just doesn't get that.

Bottom Line? You're the boss, tell me I have to do it and I will.

So I did. The damned thing has gone off every night since and tonight the system finally crashed. Right now I'm waiting for TechMan to bounce the system so I can reprocess all the damned data. Sucks to be me.

But that was Tuesday. By Thursday, CWF was a nervous wreck. We had a meeting scheduled with the Pres to discuss our testing issues and it didn't go very well. He came up with a suitable compromise and CWF basically said it wasn't good enough. Wedding Jitters? I would think so if I hadn't gone through this before with her. We all have authority issues.

Friday I got to work early and was thoroughly enjoying having the office to myself. It was Friday, payday, and donut day. What more could I ask for? I was in such a good mood, I didn't think twice when CFO called me down to his office. I didn't even get it at first when I saw JB's husband in the hallway. I was all, "Hiiii!" with the hugs and stuff. Then it dawned on me...nothing good could come of this. See, JBH used to work with us before JB did. He and CWF used to fight like little demon dogs and she was very, very close to getting him fired when he quit. He had some issues, like the rest of us, so I was surprised that they would consider hiring him again.

Then he told me he was hired to be our new MANAGER!

Friday afternoon, four hours prior to the rehearsal for CWF's wedding, and I'm sitting in CFO's office talking about her quitting or getting fired. Neither of these two will work with the other one, so I can't possibly see her working for him. And from the tone of the conversations I've had, I don't think she's going to get the choice.

I was a little cheesed that these guys couldn't wait until Monday, when CWF was safely on her honeymoon, to spring this bit of news. I had to hold it in all day Friday and Saturday, while simultaneously trying to make like I was glad JBH was stepping up. Which I am, sort of, but I feel like such a traitor. Either way, I feel like I'm hurting one of my friends. It just isn't right.

Aside from my feeling like Mata Hari, I thought the wedding went off without almost without a hitch. The bride was beautiful, truly glowing and her hubby was so sweet and sentimental. I almost couldn't believe it was him. Forgot to bring my camera, but hopefully her dad will share his 12,000 or so shots. The professional photographer was a complete and utter wench. Bossy and surly. Not really interested in what the bride wanted, just in which way we were tilting our heads. The weather turned out beautifully.Although it was quite hot in the church, the donuts and cider in the courtyard were perfect.

The reception was at an old, swank country club. All wood and leaded glass. Each table was decorated a little differently in the same autumn theme. Instead of a big table full of the wedding party, the couple had their own little table for two in an alcove off to the side. It was so sweet, almost like peeking in on a date. The speeches were sweet and brought a tear (even mine!).

Oh, and my Boy! He looked so handsome in his tuxedo, I could hardly stand it. And we danced the night away. He's already a much better dancer than his father. Once he saw that all of the other kids were hitting the dancefloor, there was no stopping him. We all went home exhausted about 10:30.

Today I got in an argument with one of the new "guys" on our team. I'm not sure I can keep up with these guys (or if I want to!). I tend to resist being talked down to and today was a good example of how pissy I can be when treated like I'm four just because I have a differing opinion. You don't have to agree with me, but don't keep telling me your idea over and over again as though I'm just not understanding. I understand. I just don't agree. I tried twice to go back to my office and work on something less volitile, but they kept dragging me back in. I hope that goes away when I get over my defensiveness about CWF. (If I ever do.)

I am so tired right now that I am actually nauseas. My work is finally done so I will go to bed now.

Oh. School is great. Got an A. Started the new one last night. Or is it the night before now? Whatever.

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!