Chick Flick Cherry Day

Thursday, Feb. 21, 2002 17:52

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries


take the which one of the trading spaces cast are you? quiz!


Goody! Cause it would sure suck if I turned out to be Frank, wouldn't it?


Please hand over the carbohydrates and no one will be hurt.

That's right kiddies. All the planets are in alignment. Caribou's had not one but two people offering to take the boy off her hands this weekend. It MUST be that time of the month. So far, it's not been the major catastrophe that it usually is and I'm grateful.

I started taking the hypertension medication. Sucks. I felt like I really was having a hard time with my workout this morning, but that's probably from the other thing. (See paragraph above.) That sometimes happens. Hubband told me I'm much too young to be taking this many pills (and I agree) so I told him I'd quit the anti-depressant. That shut him up.

I ended up going to see "Iris" this afternoon. It is playing exclusively at the Uptown Birmingham Theatre. Birmingham is one of those towns that can't decide if it wants to be really upscale or really funky. They have this whole "Village" thing going on and a nice "downtown" full of stores. (I tried to buy one of those cool Olympic berets at Roots but apparently that wasn't an original idea!) So I parked in the public lot (generously free for the first two hours) and walked around for a little bit since I was early for the show.

Along with the store I already mentioned, I stopped at this great store called Anthropology. I don't know if this is a chain or if this store just exists in Birmingham, but I love it. It always looks like the tag sale they'll be having when Martha Stewart dies. They sell everything from clothes (that would fit my left thigh) to enameled switchplate covers to cookbooks to bath products. They pile most of it on tables in ways that don't make any sense whatsoever and would lead you to believe it's on sale - right up until the moment you flip over the price tag.

Yep, I can spend hours laughing in that store.

When I got to the theatre, there was one poor guy trying to work the concession stand AND take tickets. Since there are eight screens in this theatre, he had his hands full. I think he was also trying to train the gentleman standing behind him doing nothing. At least I hope so. I waited patiently, thinking this poor dude had enough on his hands without me getting pissed at him, too. Then the woman ahead of me got ahold of him and I swear he was trying not to cry.

She had started out at the new fancy schmancy theatre down the road (three stories, gourmet food and milk shakes)because her companion was in a wheelchair and that theatre advertises valet parking. But there wasn't any valet parking so they got fed up and came to the other theatre (two blocks up the street) instead. Poor Ticket Guy was all apologetic, cause it turns out he actually works at the other theatre but is just filling in, and they do have valet parking, just not all the time. So the Cranky Woman wants to see a movie called "No Man's Land". Ticket Guy looks at the computer and sees it is sold out. Which puzzles all of us because it's noon on a Thursday. Cranky Woman is obviously having a very bad day. (Which I generously point out to her, in case she didn't already know. But she did know because she agreed with me.) Ticket Guy tries to scare up a manager on the squack box and asks what the problem is. Manager says Cranky Woman is out of luck because the projector is broken, but Ticket Guy works her out a deal where she can see any other movie free. So we both talked her into seeing "Iris".

I told Ticket Guy to go ahead and wait on the dehydrated woman screaming for a bottle of water and then paid for my movie with exact change and didn't even worry about popcorn or pop. I think he was doing me a favor anyway.

"Iris" was very good and I think they enjoyed it. At least her companion did by the comments he was making through the movie. My favorite is still "A Beautiful Mind" but this is running a close second.

Does anyone know if O.P.I. has a website. (Course I know I could just look myself...jeez!)

I ask because I had my "Day of Beauty" on Saturday. The "Day of Beauty" started with a gift certificate from my Mom for a full body massage. I have a very generous and cool Mom. She knows what I like. When I made the appointment, however, I decided to upgrade to the full package "Day of Beauty". This included a facial, haircut and style, manicure with parafin treatment and pedicure. While I liked everything about the day of pampering, I'm thinking of truly making pedicures part of my beauty regimen. Wow. Talk about feeling like a princess! You're sitting there on what is every inch a throne with some woman bathing a prettifying your feet!!!!

So now my nails (all twenty of them...yeah, that's right, twenty...okay) are a deep shade of red called "Chick Flick Cherry"! and I LOVE it! I have avidly avoided doing dishes this week with the intent of extending the life of my manicure, but I chipped my left bird finger today. I went to the beauty supply place near my home, thinking they carried the right brand, but they carry ORLY instead. (Durrr!)

Who would have thought I'd be the type to get all girly over a chipped nail? Me, neither.

Don't ask about the work thing or the mortgage thing. Both are still up in the air and a great sense of frustration to me. Hold ups everywhere. The work one was especially disappointing since I looked damned spiffy yesterday in my new black suit jacket paired with my Catholic school girl skirt and black tights. (Mildly 90's but this is Waterford, y'all. We've just stopped doing the big bang flip thing!)

I'm going to grab some more of the macaroni and cheese I made (although Little Boy is right, it tastes like "nuthin'")and watch some "Buffy".

Later...

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!